Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Taking advice of the other reviewers, I cut the oil in half, and deglazed the pan with wine before adding the sauce. The second time I made this, I used whole milk instead of cream, and I don't think it changed anything except calories. I didnt use sugar either time I made this, as I was worried it would make the sauce sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlaMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I'm always looking for recipes that use tomatoes without a ton of cheese. This recipe was flavorful and easy. (You can easily cut the amount of oil in half though...) I loved the idea of pan roasting dried herbs...great! We added chicken and used roasted garlic instead of 'regular'. The recipe omits when the sugar should be added but I figured it would be with the tomato sauce - which we used a 14 oz. can (more than the recipe calls for, but worked out well)- of diced tomatoes after a few pulses in the food processor. Using half/half instead of heavy cream was fine too. Definitely adding to our list of menu favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
A friend of mine and I made it for our husbands and we all loved it. We followed the recipe almost exactly; we didn't use the chicken boullion because we were making it vegetarian and we didn't measure the wine so it was probably a little less than what was called for. But it turned out perfect and thickened up very well. We boiled it for a couple minutes after adding the cream so maybe that helped thicken it up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
As per other reviewers, decreased the oil to 3 tbsp and omitted the red pepper flakes. My husband added the pepper flakes at the end. We also served with pieces of cooked turkey bacon and grated parmesan cheese. Also boiled the wine and the tomato sauce together to lighten the taste of the wine and because I am pregnant. Next time will decrease the sugar by half (this was way to sweet for us) and will use 4 cloves of garlic instead of 3. Will make again. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Loved this recipe. It was easy to make, quickly made and tasted wonderful. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I did without it. I was really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is a family hit! I have made this recipe several times, using it as a sauce over lobster ravioli. My only recommendation is to add good quality wine before the tomato sauce, bringing it to a boil to evaporate off the strong alcohol flavor. It will also help to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Excellent! I used red peppers instead of green, and added some leftover rotisserie chicken I had. I am not a cook by any means, but even I could make this. My husband loved the sauce too. He wants it on every meal now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I used fresh herbs left out the sugar and chicken bouillon as I needed it to be vegetarian. I used it on tortellini as suggested. Everybody loved it so much they were using bread to mop the last bit off their plate. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was really good. I omitted the thyme because we don't like it and substituted water for the wine. Next time I will omit or reduce the amount of red pepper flakes. I found it spicy, but my husband loved it. We decided to compromise for next time and he can sprinkle the flakes on at the table. I served with breaded veal cutlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
taste was great but mine turned out on the runny side after adding cream and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpursville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States