Satiny Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I am so disappointed with this recipe! I made it first in the microwave and it separated and failed and then I decided to make it in the doubleboiler which is a lot more trouble. It still started separating and the texture was lumpy. I thought maybe the first time I let the chips get too hot so didn't the second time. I have been baking all my life and would like to know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
It's just as the title says: shiny and satiny. Made it over a double boiler and I was afraid it would be too thin and runny, but it firms up nicely as it drips down the bundt cake and cools. And actually it started to firm up on the cold spoon I was using to drizzle it on the cake! Turns a plain-looking bundt cake into a sinful-looking, beautiful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Makes an excellent drizzle for coconut macaroons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a fantastic glaze. It's beautiful and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I made it in just mins... it was so easy. I did the microwave suggestion that other reveiws had mentioned. It was a bitter sweet glaze, not my thing. I'll try it with milk chocolate, or even white chocolate chips. Maybe the mint ones in christmas? This quick recipe could have a lot of fun with it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
What can I say? Four ingredients and about one minute in the microwave (in 30 second intervals), followed by a little stirring... if you're quick in the kitchen, you can have your Bundt cake dripping with shiny, chocolatey goodness in about 5 minutes. I'm slow and did half the work with a toddler on my hip, and it still barely took me any longer than that. My go-to topping for the Too Much Chocolate Cake recipe, also on this site. Want to make friends and influence people? Look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made this in the microwave and it was a bit grainy but the flavor and pourable texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I agree with Shannon A. Very grainy. Not satiny at all. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Added a little more corn syrup to produce a glaze that poured well. No issues microwaving it 20 seconds at a time until smooth. Poured it onto the cake about 20 minutes before serving so it was still warm and gooey when we ate it, and it had a nice, rich texture. I used high quality chocolate chips and the flavor is definitely semi-sweet chocolate, pretty intense, I felt like it was balanced out well with the sweet fluffy yellow box mix cake I poured it over. I will make this again when I don't have cream for true ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Will never use this recipe again. The flavor was good, but, it is definitely not "satiny". Be very careful if you microwave to melt. Even though I reduced the time, knowing that all microwaves cook at different temp levels, the recipe started to seize and it was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States