Satiny Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I made this recipe once and it was amazing. Definitely 5 star frosting. My husband loved it so much he requested it on his birthday cake. I didn't have any semi-sweet chocolate chips on hand so I used milk chocolate instead. BIG mistake! It turned out lumpy and very unappetizing looking. Instead of drizzling beautifully over the edge of the cake it dripped in icky clumps off the sides. Moral of the story -- only use the semi sweet chips and your glaze will be perfect. DO NOT use milk chocolate chips for this recipe - it will NOT turn out the same! Fortunately, it still tasted okay and hubby was satisfied, but I felt really bad about his ugly cake. Had to make another and use the right chips to make it up to him. He was okay with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I put all ingredients in microwave 45 sec then stir. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I goofed and didn't buy enough chocolate chips. Had to keep going though because of time constraints. Was wonderful. Can't wait to make it again with the full amount of chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is great! I made it in the microwave as suggested in other reviews. Worked fantastic. Glaze is shiny and taste like donut glaze. Will use this over and over for many things. Today was bundt cake and I am thinking next will be brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I have made this glaze on many occasions and it is always a huge hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I've used this several times now and have always done it in the microwave as suggested. I use it on regular cakes & ice cream cakes and with different flavored chips. Quick & YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I've made this twice now, but instead of using a double boiler, I melt in the microwave. Half power, increments of 30 seconds, and keep a keen eye on it. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly and was so impressed with the outcome and the ease of it, I decided to use it with a few twists to ice my boyfriend's birthday cake. I added a couple shots of whiskey and omitted the corn syrup for that. The outcome was a more shell-like covering, but still very good. This icing also looks great with a powder sugar stencil to decorate it (but do it just before you serve it, as the sugar will absorb any oil in the icing and get goopy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Very easy to make and very, very delicious! I put this over the "too much chocolate cake" from this site and it made the cake beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I just made this glaze and found the consistency was great but then I like that it's a little thicker. I had to substitute honey for the corn syrup but you can't tell in the taste or consistency. I wrote the glaze recipe on the back of my Triple Chocolate Cake recipe, making it quadruple chocolate now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This simple topping is perfect! It gets better the day after, if you can keep the chocolate fanatics from devouring it! I made a double batch and poured the extra inside my bundt... oh yeah, perfect chocolate fudge. My husband complimented my cake immediately, and without any persuasion. Super easy, and I had plenty of time to make it while the cake cooled. If you love thick, fudgy chocolate, you will not be disappointed. I used Hershey semisweet and the brand DOES matter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States