Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These sandwiches are fantastic!!! I only used a half pound of ham, and only put half a slice of cheese per sandwich, so perhaps that made them a little healthier. I also prefer Havarti cheese over the Gruyere. I made half the amount of butter sauce as well, and thought that was plenty to flavor it. My boyfriend can't get enough of these, thanks for great recipe!!! They're perfect for football season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These sandwiches were GREAT! I used swiss cheese instead of the other because it was cheaper. Easy and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These were off the charts amazing!! Made a triple batch for my husband's poker night and the guys were actually asking if they could take some home...the problem being there were no "leftovers". Between the guys and my children sneaking in repeatedly to "steal" a sandwich they disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camden, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
MOUTHWATERING! I used thinly sliced boiled ham from the deli. I also used the individually wrapped swiss cheese slices (similar to the American cheese slices) because they really melt easily and smoothly. Each sandwich only requires 1/2 slice of cheese. If you leave the sandwiches covered a little after removing from the oven, the rolls are nicely steamed and soft. These are a tasty and inexpensive way to feed a crowd--a definite crowd pleaser. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These were delicious! But I used 2 packages of rolls, 1 1/2 pounds of ham and I doubled the butter sauce- this way I used up all of the cream cheese. I'm glad I did, because just 12 wouldn't have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
The recipe only calls for one stick of butter, not two, rosethecook. 1/2 cup butter is 1 stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
It's delicious. However, I would caution anyone for using 2 sticks butter for this recipe. Either cut the entire sauce (4 ingredients) to 1/2, or double the amount of buns. Same for the cheese spread. It's way too much for 12 buns. Truthfully, you need 2 packages of buns to follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were very good. I used a regular swiss cheese that I already had. I also used a popular brand of hawaiian roll, and they were fairly small, so I didn't use all of the cream cheese or ham (and halved each slice of cheese), but there was still plenty on each. I recommend that you keep an eye on these, as mine were well-done at about 15 minutes. They probably would have burned had I left them in the entire 20. Husband thought they were delicious and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANITEGAL316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These are amazing! We love them with a fried egg for breakfast or brunch too. I have been making them on the hawaiian bread hamburger buns, which makes 6 sandwiches. I only use a half pound of shaved ham and have only used swiss and it's worked great. They also reheat well in the microwave in a few seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States