Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
There is a step missing that will help people who thought the sandwiches were too soggy. After you've baked them for 20 minutes covered, remove the foil & bake for another 5 minutes. This browns & crisps the top of the rolls. This step is included in Caren's original recipe. I made these for the second time today (the first was when the recipe was originally posted on Food Network). The recipes are very close to identical - one makes chive & onion creamed cheese & the other you buy it premade. I also used grated swiss cheese this time - much cheaper & as delicious. Both times the sandwiches were devoured. A hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Made this for a potluck at work and everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made mine on Hawaiian Sandwich Buns and used left over honey baked ham. The topping sauce really makes it great! Served with pasta salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
These were ok, really greasy. I didn't like all the butter on them. The cream cheese was just too gooey and overwhelming. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I really liked this and will be making it again. I used Black Forest Ham and Swiss Cheese. It was delicious. I halved the recipe and made some plain ham and cheddar cheese sandwiches for the kids. Put a little butter on top of them and baked in the same pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Frighteningly addictive. I use Swiss cheese which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
For ease of finding sliced cheese, I used Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I was a little Leary about this sandwich but when I tasted it, I was hooked! My whole family enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I would love to make these for a tailgate party. Has anyone assembled these ahead of time and then heated them on a gas grill instead of an oven? They look so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My picky family loved this recipe. Only changes I made were using turkey and havarti cheese instead of ham. Making them again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States