Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Use Harvarti Cheese in place of the Gruyere. I have made it both ways, for the same party crowd, and the harvarti version was perferred all around. GREAT sandwiches, and so easy to prep the night before, and then bake the day of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Had made these for lunch today and used ham and cheddar cheese. They were really good and will make again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made these for a work potluck and everyone loved them. I did think they were a bit oily so the second time I made them I cut back the butter to 5 Tbls for the topping and they were perfect. Have made them with various different combos of meat and cheese and they are always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Love these! It's a great party dish! I love that you can make a bunch ahead of time and then just pop in the oven when you're ready for them! They even reheat well the next day in the microwave. Have made these quite a few times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Excellent. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Made this last Sunday, My family all loved it! My husband kept sneaking them all day long =) Used half a slice of swiss cheese on mine instead of gruyere
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mira848

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was great. Will definately make this ahead to have for football parties and such - very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I've made a similar version of this recipe for years. I love the addition of cream cheese in this recipe. Next time, I would leave out the Gruyere. It's an expensive cheese and the flavor is masked by the cream cheese's strong flavor (and I doubled the batch but kept the cream cheese the same). I also think I may add some Dijon mustard to the butter mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Not my taste, too salty and I didn't like the taste of the gruyere cheese. My hubby didn't love them but didn't complain but I won't be making these again. Also I didn't like the sauce on top of the sandwiches because I hate soggy bread and that's exactly what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriansWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States