Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
MOUTHWATERING! I used thinly sliced boiled ham from the deli. I also used the individually wrapped swiss cheese slices (similar to the American cheese slices) because they really melt easily and smoothly. Each sandwich only requires 1/2 slice of cheese. If you leave the sandwiches covered a little after removing from the oven, the rolls are nicely steamed and soft. These are a tasty and inexpensive way to feed a crowd--a definite crowd pleaser. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
These were awesome! What a great "go to" recipe for so many different occasions. Served at a football party and they were a huge hit with kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
The recipe only calls for one stick of butter, not two, rosethecook. 1/2 cup butter is 1 stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These were delicious! But I used 2 packages of rolls, 1 1/2 pounds of ham and I doubled the butter sauce- this way I used up all of the cream cheese. I'm glad I did, because just 12 wouldn't have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These were off the charts amazing!! Made a triple batch for my husband's poker night and the guys were actually asking if they could take some home...the problem being there were no "leftovers". Between the guys and my children sneaking in repeatedly to "steal" a sandwich they disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camden, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These sound delish! I think I will make with the pineapple cream cheese to pair with the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These sandwiches were GREAT! I used swiss cheese instead of the other because it was cheaper. Easy and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These sandwiches are fantastic!!! I only used a half pound of ham, and only put half a slice of cheese per sandwich, so perhaps that made them a little healthier. I also prefer Havarti cheese over the Gruyere. I made half the amount of butter sauce as well, and thought that was plenty to flavor it. My boyfriend can't get enough of these, thanks for great recipe!!! They're perfect for football season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My husband is a picky eater and loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Excellant sandwiches. I used dinner rolls and swiss cheese. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States