Sassy Steak Marinade and Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I have been on a diet for quite some time now. We decided to cook out, and my boyfriend was looking for a marinade that was "diet friendly." Let me just say, this was the BEST marinade I have EVER tasted! We used it on chicken instead of beef. We simmered the chicken in the marinade for about 1/2 an hour, and then cooked it on the grill. I will never use any other marinade! This was FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I wish I could give this more stars, but we just didn't like it very much. It was too sweet for us. The marinade tasted great, but I think once cooked, the tomato brought out more of the honey's sweetness. I'm not sure if reducing the honey would make a difference for us. My only change was to add more garlic and garlic powder to the marinade, and I wasn't going to reduce the marinade for a sauce (no time) so I left the shrooms out. Oh! I used Craig's Cocktail Sauce recipe which uses A1 steak sauce, and I like the flavor this added to the marinade...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was unbelievable, very good. I was a little nervous with the cocktail sauce, but I think that is what added to the secret ingredient. The aroma lingered for hours and we wanted more. I will try this on Chicken or maybe even pork next time ! More of an asian taste !Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was good. I will use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Fabulous and tasty! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is definitely a keeper for steak marinade. It kind of reminded me of the sauce that PF Changs uses on their equivalent to General Tso's. I only marinaded the steaks for about an hour and cooked them on the George Foreman. Excellent! We're trying the marinade on chicken tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyAccountant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I did not change any of the ingredients but I did change how it was cooked. Instead of on the grill, I cubed the steak and let it simmer in all the marinade in a large skillet. After the steak was a little over half way done, I added the mushrooms and let it continue simmering. I served it over rice and it turned out great. The only thing I am going to do different next time is add some sliced onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
omg- has anyone looked at the nutritional info on this? The sodium is off the charts...I wish I could have it b/c it sounds sooo good. Any suggestions for replacements to lower the sodium?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
When I combined all the ingredients for this recipe and tasted it, I thought it was still a little bland. Since I like my marinades super flavorful, I added another clove of garlic, about a teaspoon of fresh ground pepper, a few shakes of Worcestershire sauce, and a drop of hickory flavored liquid smoke. Turned out fabulous!!! The reserved sauce cooked up with mushrooms really topped off the dish, I will definitely be using this recipe again. Next time though, maybe I'll swap out the honey for pure maple syrup, yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States