Sassy Sausage and Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Loved the soup. Made it according to recipe. One exception - I didn't have salsa, but I did have a chipotle chile in adobo sauce. I used a whole chile with some of the sauce which can be quite hot, so use 1/2 of the chile. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Will make again and again, I added a can of corn, rice, and I used Italian seasoned stewed tomatoes instead of plain. The cilantro makes it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I make this all the time and we love it. Made some changes just because it's what I had, it was really good! I used "Mexican Stewed Tomatoes" instead of regular, and Campbells Beef Consomme. It was a whole different flavor. Also, I always saute a green pepper in there as well. Hubby said this was the best batch yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Trembacz Smathers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I love this recipe and think its great as is or a prime starting point to create something your taste buds will love. Have to say pick a good salsa though because it effects the flavor or lack there of. I like a chipotle salsa with fresh chopped jalapeños and adding different types of beans. Plus white rice and corn, when adding rice make sure to watch the fluid levels and add as needed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a tasty and filling recipe! For some reason the shop was out of black beans so I substituted white beans, kidney beans cold have worked just as well I think. They also only had pork sausages no beef so I purchased beef meatballs and fried them before cutting in half to put in the soup. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
i really loved this recipe even though i added a few of my own ingredients, like smoked turkey, diced tomatoes, blacke eye peas, northern beans, a bit of cilantro and green peppers and onions and i used chicken boullian instead of beef. and it came out amazing i'm thinking i should just add this as recipe, but it was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was pretty good. Next time I will use more salsa and add corn and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Thank you for the recipe. I maade it as-written. It didn't need anything added, even salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
great recipe!...just made a few changes 2 cans of black beans, 1 can of the fire roasted tomatos, 1 can of corn drained, used chunky black bean/corn salsa and also used 1 green belpepper & 1 jalepeno finely chooped and sauteed with onion and garlic. used the sausage sliced as well as small package of ground HOT Italian sausage...my husband loves meat and spicy......it was GREAT! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was easy, tasty, filling. A perfect meal for any cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregongirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Creswell, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States