Saskatoon (Serviceberry) Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I picked at least a gallon of serviceberries one day, luckily had some fresh rhubarb in my garden and made this pie for a potluck dinner. It was delicious! I've also used the filling and put a topping like apple crisp on top. That is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Followed directions exactly except instead of putting the rhubarb in the microwave, i placed frozen rhubarb on the stove on low until they started to thaw, then added the sugar. This pie was a HIT. Everyone loved it! I will be saving this recipe for sure. Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My brother gave me some saskatoons and I had rhubarb, so I gave this recipe a try. I gave my brother one of the pies. He came and gave me more saskatoons today, asking if I could make him another pie saying that it was the best pie he'd ever tasted. I followed the recipe exactly except that I lessened the sugar by a bit. Thanks for a great recipe. I have added to my family cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe! Tasted great, prepared just as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is sitting in my oven, bubbling over and smells like summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I put this mix in tart shells rather than a pie, and although it was nice and juicy, it also stayed thick enough to allow people to eat a tart out of their hand. However, I found that the cooking time was far too long - about 20 minutes at a lower temperature worked well. Don't worry too much about temp or time, just make sure that the mix clarifies to a deep reddish purple before you take them out, and it will be fine. If underdone, they will taste fine, but not have as striking a colour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Just made this for Thanksgiving as the non-pumpkin option. Great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Although a big fan of rhubarb, I admit I was dubious of it's inclusion in a Saskatoon pie recipe, being somewhat of a purist. I am however, always open to trying new things, and am I ever glad about that, because rhubarb took saskatoon pie to another level. The submitter's claims are all spot on. Saskatoons aren't known for their incredible juiciness (although they have an unbeatable flavor), therefore the rhubarb adds the much needed juices, while still allowing the berries to be the star of the show. It also added a very pleasant 'just right' tartness that was a perfect complement. The filling was a perfect consistency, holding the fruit in nicely. Only wanting one pie this time, and using from scratch pie crust, I cut the recipe in half and filled my 9 inch, not 8 inch, pie plate. When I make this again, I'll make the entire recipe and fill my 9" deep dish pie pan for a mile high pie, especially in light of the fact that the filling holds itself so well. The rhubarb I used had been frozen, so it only needed a minute in the microwave to yield it's juices. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Stacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is great! I used splenda instead of sugar to cut the calories and it worked fine. Now I know what to do with all those saskatoon berries I get off my tree every year! Lori W, St. Albert Alberta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. We did nothing differently and it turned out fantastically. This will definitely be going in the recipe box for many years to come of delicious pies! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States