Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
use about 1/4 - 1/2 cup less of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I have picked my share of Saskatoons as a child, but the aunts were always in charge of the pie. I used this recipe to bake my first pie (ever) and it got rave reviews. They have officially handed the torch down to me. I followed the recipe except added some corn starch at the end as per previous review. Already have two more in the oven. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Really good, great consistency as other reviewers have said. A true 'Toon pie as my great aunt commented. Would have given 5 stars but found it a bit sweet (could have been my berries). Adjusted the sugar on the next pie and it was awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Fabulous recipe, thanks for posting! I crushed the berries a little before boiling and made slits in the top crust. Otherwise, the consistency was great, the recipe is fantastic as is! Regina, Saskatchewan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good has become my new favorite pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Loved it!! So close to grandmas Saskatoon Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah5324
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My 75 year old Dad from Saskatchewan thinks it's a hit...so if he likes it, it must be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good followed recipe to a tee! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I had never cooked the berries beforehand. What a difference. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Oh my gosh, this was insanely good. We have a serviceberry tree and I picked a ton of berries so I decided to make a pie. It was sweet and tart at the same time and tasted a bit like cherry pie. Forgot about the butter, but didn't even notice. I wish serviceberries were in season year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States