Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. I added a little cinnamon and used 5 cups of berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Awesome recipe! Looked amazing and tasted delicious. cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup and it was perfect. not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
My family went to a saskatoon berry u-pick farm and came home with a giant bucket full of berries. I had no idea what to do with them, so I came on this site to look for a recipe, and found this one for saskatoon pie. I'm so glad I did, this pie was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust from this site. This pie has a great taste and texture, and there's almost a hint of dark cherry flavour after it's baked. If you have access to saskatoon berries, definitely give this pie a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Loved this recipe, so simple yet so tasty! I used cornstarch instead of flour and added in about a cup of raspberries just before I took the mixture off the stove. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I used to pick Saskatoons every summer in Manitoba as I was growing up and Saskatoon pie was a welcomed reward for our efforts in the sand hills. I now live in Southwestern ON and have a Serviceberry Tree as a landscape feature right at our front door. However the birds usually beat me to the berry harvest plucking each one off as it ripens. This year I guarded my tree with a fruit tree netting and got an ice cream pail full of Saskatoons off it yesterday, enough for 5 pies. I was delighted with this recipe and found the berries much more tender, juicy and flavorful than my best childhood memory of Saskatoon Pie. Boiling the berries first made the berries more tender and juicy. The lemon juice enhanced the flavour and seemed to get the natural fruit pectin working, so the pie was not too runny. It is perfect sweetness and very delicious. This Recipe is a keeper! Thanks I'm delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Delicious & Easy To Make! I Added The Cinnamon Another User Reccomended As Well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Couldn't be more perfect! I made tarts rather than pie and the men I bake for loved them. Thank you so much for posting Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I tried to make it exactly as written but i actually forgot to dot with butter, and i also added jello crystals to the filling so it would not be runny, (my husbands grandmas advice) let me just say this pie was incredible, i dont even like pie and rarely eat it but had to do something with the saskatoon berries growing in my yard. Im thankful i chose this recipe, i cant say it enough, THIS WAS awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. B

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Perfect! We used frozen berries and found that simmering it for about 30minutes to an hour made the sauce around them darker and more fragrant. I don't like using flakey crusts so I found an amazing recipie in my Company's Coming Pie's Cookbook that makes a sweeter softer dough. Thank you for this recipie! they are so good!! We made 6 pies in one night, two extra deep ones and four regular ones. MMM :) boyfriend from Herbert Sask and he just loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very easy and very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States