Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I tried to make it exactly as written but i actually forgot to dot with butter, and i also added jello crystals to the filling so it would not be runny, (my husbands grandmas advice) let me just say this pie was incredible, i dont even like pie and rarely eat it but had to do something with the saskatoon berries growing in my yard. Im thankful i chose this recipe, i cant say it enough, THIS WAS awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. B

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Perfect! We used frozen berries and found that simmering it for about 30minutes to an hour made the sauce around them darker and more fragrant. I don't like using flakey crusts so I found an amazing recipie in my Company's Coming Pie's Cookbook that makes a sweeter softer dough. Thank you for this recipie! they are so good!! We made 6 pies in one night, two extra deep ones and four regular ones. MMM :) boyfriend from Herbert Sask and he just loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very easy and very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Awesome recipe - my guests loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I just finished making this pie, and the filling only filled half of my 9inch pie plate. I was not happy with the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CS22
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wow! What really surprised me was the intense almond flavor (from the seeds, I guess). I have a serviceberry tree, but I've only eaten the berries fresh or put them in muffins and scones before. Maybe it was the berries I used, since they were very ripe and the seeds were a bit large, but the pie tasted like some sort of almond torte rather than like fruit. That's not a complaint - it was very good, just unexpected. If I hadn't made it myself, I'd probably wonder if the crust was made from almonds, or if there was a layer of marzipan under the filling. I made the filling exactly as written, and It was thick enough to hold together nicely. I see no reason to add any additional thickener unless perhaps you don't pre-cook the berries. Instead of a 2-crust pie, I made it like I make my Concord grape pie -- a single crust, with a flour/sugar/butter crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
easy and great. I put in 5 cups of berries and increased the flour,sugar and limejuice (all I had) porportionally. Next time, try adding more flour or a bit of corn starch as it was quite runny. But... great. I added one cup of fresh raspberries to the 4 cups of saskatoons after it was finished boiling and right before putting the pie together.... This was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Wonderful pie! I used 5 cups of frozen saskatoons and cooked them without water. Used 2/3 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Used the No Fail Pie crust recipe from the Crisco box. Hubby enjoyed the pie even though he doesn't like the texture of saskatoon berries. My three kids ages 1.5, 3 & 6 loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Loved this recipe, easy and delicious. I added 1 tbsp of Tapioca to the berries while they were cooking for a thickener and 1 Tbsp of Cinnamon. Everyone loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States