Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
As a resident of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, I've made and eaten saskatoon pie many times. This recipe is excellent. Simmering the berries softened them and made the flavors blend together nicely, taking away a bit of the berry's tartness. It also had a nice texture, not too runny when served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My grandmother would have been so pleased! I picked Saskatoon berries all night last night and wondered if I'd ever find a recipe that would make a good pie. Well... this is it! I would have give this a 5-star rating, but determined that the recipe was was improved just a touch by adding 1 tbsp. of cinnamon to 5 cups of Saskatoons. Absolutely delicious and ridiculously easy to make. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
While on a hunting trip in Northern Alberta my husband brought home saskatoon berries that was given to him by the farmers wife which they had picked and froze. I made this pie today and it is the BEST pie that we ever ate. I did not cook the berries first, and it gave the pie a very slightly berry crunch which made it extra flavorful. All I can say is that I wish we had more saskatoon berries in our freezer for more pies. Truly a wonderful and delightful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvThoseLabs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Fabulous recipe, thanks for posting! I crushed the berries a little before boiling and made slits in the top crust. Otherwise, the consistency was great, the recipe is fantastic as is! Regina, Saskatchewan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Found these berries on the property I was renting, so I decided to be a domestic diva and make some pies. It was so good we did not mind smiling with bluish cast teeth for the rest of the night. And my guests asked to bring some home with them. Diva, I am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J La

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Export, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Great recipe! I thought that there may be to much sugar but it turned out just the right sweetness for our taste. I added a small amount of cornstarch to thicken up the liquid when simmering it and that seemed to work great... Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blufrog Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I have picked my share of Saskatoons as a child, but the aunts were always in charge of the pie. I used this recipe to bake my first pie (ever) and it got rave reviews. They have officially handed the torch down to me. I followed the recipe except added some corn starch at the end as per previous review. Already have two more in the oven. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good has become my new favorite pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I had never cooked the berries beforehand. What a difference. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
My mom always made Saskatoon pie, when the fruit is ready. It's my favourite "fruit" pie. I've never made it until now ... delicious recipe. My whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States