Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
While on a hunting trip in Northern Alberta my husband brought home saskatoon berries that was given to him by the farmers wife which they had picked and froze. I made this pie today and it is the BEST pie that we ever ate. I did not cook the berries first, and it gave the pie a very slightly berry crunch which made it extra flavorful. All I can say is that I wish we had more saskatoon berries in our freezer for more pies. Truly a wonderful and delightful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvThoseLabs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
As a resident of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, I've made and eaten saskatoon pie many times. This recipe is excellent. Simmering the berries softened them and made the flavors blend together nicely, taking away a bit of the berry's tartness. It also had a nice texture, not too runny when served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
My mom always made Saskatoon pie, when the fruit is ready. It's my favourite "fruit" pie. I've never made it until now ... delicious recipe. My whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My grandmother would have been so pleased! I picked Saskatoon berries all night last night and wondered if I'd ever find a recipe that would make a good pie. Well... this is it! I would have give this a 5-star rating, but determined that the recipe was was improved just a touch by adding 1 tbsp. of cinnamon to 5 cups of Saskatoons. Absolutely delicious and ridiculously easy to make. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Great recipe! I thought that there may be to much sugar but it turned out just the right sweetness for our taste. I added a small amount of cornstarch to thicken up the liquid when simmering it and that seemed to work great... Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blufrog Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Found these berries on the property I was renting, so I decided to be a domestic diva and make some pies. It was so good we did not mind smiling with bluish cast teeth for the rest of the night. And my guests asked to bring some home with them. Diva, I am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J La

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Export, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Oh my gosh, this was insanely good. We have a serviceberry tree and I picked a ton of berries so I decided to make a pie. It was sweet and tart at the same time and tasted a bit like cherry pie. Forgot about the butter, but didn't even notice. I wish serviceberries were in season year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I had never cooked the berries beforehand. What a difference. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good followed recipe to a tee! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My 75 year old Dad from Saskatchewan thinks it's a hit...so if he likes it, it must be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States