Saskatoon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Awesome recipe - my guests loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I just finished making this pie, and the filling only filled half of my 9inch pie plate. I was not happy with the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CS22
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wow! What really surprised me was the intense almond flavor (from the seeds, I guess). I have a serviceberry tree, but I've only eaten the berries fresh or put them in muffins and scones before. Maybe it was the berries I used, since they were very ripe and the seeds were a bit large, but the pie tasted like some sort of almond torte rather than like fruit. That's not a complaint - it was very good, just unexpected. If I hadn't made it myself, I'd probably wonder if the crust was made from almonds, or if there was a layer of marzipan under the filling. I made the filling exactly as written, and It was thick enough to hold together nicely. I see no reason to add any additional thickener unless perhaps you don't pre-cook the berries. Instead of a 2-crust pie, I made it like I make my Concord grape pie -- a single crust, with a flour/sugar/butter crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
easy and great. I put in 5 cups of berries and increased the flour,sugar and limejuice (all I had) porportionally. Next time, try adding more flour or a bit of corn starch as it was quite runny. But... great. I added one cup of fresh raspberries to the 4 cups of saskatoons after it was finished boiling and right before putting the pie together.... This was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Wonderful pie! I used 5 cups of frozen saskatoons and cooked them without water. Used 2/3 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Used the No Fail Pie crust recipe from the Crisco box. Hubby enjoyed the pie even though he doesn't like the texture of saskatoon berries. My three kids ages 1.5, 3 & 6 loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Loved this recipe, easy and delicious. I added 1 tbsp of Tapioca to the berries while they were cooking for a thickener and 1 Tbsp of Cinnamon. Everyone loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great recipe,easy to make and tastes awsome.It's a keeper in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
we pick these awesome berries all over the southwest of saskatchewan. freeze them whole and use them as directed in this recipe....the best ever....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Saskatoons are plentiful where we camp, and this year was a bumper crop. I had enough for three pies so I tripled the recipe. Delicious! Took some to work for a few people that grew up rural, just to give them a taste of their childhood! I will apply this recipe to blueberries, if I am lucky enough to score some this summer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talldrink419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States