Sarma (Stuffed Cabbage) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is one of my favorite dishes, but I doing it differently. I use 1 lb ground lamb, 1 cup Arborio rice, diced garlic, paprika. Mix it thoroughly. Separate the cabbage leaves (this uses about 2 heads) in whatever way works best for you. Pare the thick vein. Put a spoonful of the lamb mixture in the center of the leaf. Fold and roll. Place in a stock pot with chicken broth. There should be enough stock to go to the top of the rolls. Cover & boil. Turn down to simmer for about 3 hours. 1 tablespoon of sour cream goes on top of one cabbage roll. Good leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe. My mother-in-law had taught me how to do them, but I had forgot. I made my rolls with just ground beef and I added tomato sauce and some spaghetti sauce. My husband loved them!!!..I will be making them again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Notfromdisearth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I thought it was very tasty and simple to prepare. But plan ahead as it takes time to cook. We did it in the crock pot and let it cook all day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I am friends with Ruth..I love this..This one is a KEEPER. Thanks for Sharing..:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I was looking for a recipe like the one my Polish aunt makes, and this one looked just right. I boiled my cabbage leaves in salted water with vinegar added, as some posters suggested. The recipe came together easily - the only time consuming part was getting out my meat grinder for the ham. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is the most delicious meal. My mom makes it for christmas every year and I request it for my birthday every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My Grame made Sarma on a regular basis. She was born in Chabar (now Yugoslavia) & is Croatian. She has been gone for quite some time but her recipe's live long and prosper. She did not freeze the kraut or cabbage and only used ground beff. Always used fresh garlic, onion and bell pepper and also lined the cook pot with pork spare ribs. All ingredients with the exception of the rolls cooked for at least 2 hours to marry the flavors before adding the rolls. If she did not make fresh kraut she always thoroughly rinsed it so it would not overpower the dish. It was served best with either mashed potatoes or corn meal mush (Polenta). Jane (Evanca)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was not bad but the sour-kraut over powered the dish for us. I don't like rice with my ground beef so I used orzo, the filling was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I love Sarma. This recipe is pretty good, my mother in law uses barley instead of rice. Just a note the poster who said that this is mostly made in Romania is wrong. Sarma is made in Croatia, Bosnia and pretty much all of the former Yugoslavia. I'm sure Romania has their own version or at least it has a different name than "our" sarma. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great recipe!! As suggested, I parboiled the cabbage head with a bit of vinegar instead of freezing. I sauteed the onion with fresh minced garlic before adding to ground beef/pork mixture and also added vegeta seasoning. They turned out perfectly, my husband and I could not stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States