Sarma (Stuffed Cabbage) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love sarma. My family always used sour cabbage heads and kraut. Parboiling the cabbage head in water with some vinegar is ok for a short cut, but the taste is not the same as when you use a sour head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Milling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
good, but how long can this keep before eating?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My grandmother who was ethnic German, Danauschwaben from Semln made Serbian Sarma. A family favorite of ours. She added a little dill or marjoram, one or the other, and used straight pork, no beef. We always serve sarma with thin sliced, salted cucumbers with garlic, black pepper, fresh dill, a little vinegar and sour cream and fresh rye bread with sweet butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon R Wagner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My family is Serbian and has been using an old family recipe for years. Recently, I misplaced the recipe and couldn't get ahold of my aunt . . . this recipe is identical to our traditional recipe, minus the tomatoes. When I make it, I don't use the tomatoes, but it is delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I love Sarma we make sarmas a lot at home and Dolma's, I made the Turkish way, similar recipe but I like the Turkish way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Tasted just like my Polish grandma used to make. Delicious! Don't skip freezing the cabbage or leaves will tear when you wrap the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was soooo good! I parboiled the cabbage to make leaves pliable. Substituted 1 lb turkey sausage for ham and pork. Layered in my crockpot cooked on high for one hour and 5 more hours on low. It is the best I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyAdams
Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was super yummy. I couldn't find any ground ham so I just used ground beef and pork. I used a few garlic cloves instead of powder. I also added a ham hock to the pot. It came out delicious! oooh and there is an ethnic grocery store in my neighborhood so I just bought picked whole cabbage leaves which added great flavor and saved me a lot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is one of my favorite dishes, but I doing it differently. I use 1 lb ground lamb, 1 cup Arborio rice, diced garlic, paprika. Mix it thoroughly. Separate the cabbage leaves (this uses about 2 heads) in whatever way works best for you. Pare the thick vein. Put a spoonful of the lamb mixture in the center of the leaf. Fold and roll. Place in a stock pot with chicken broth. There should be enough stock to go to the top of the rolls. Cover & boil. Turn down to simmer for about 3 hours. 1 tablespoon of sour cream goes on top of one cabbage roll. Good leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe. My mother-in-law had taught me how to do them, but I had forgot. I made my rolls with just ground beef and I added tomato sauce and some spaghetti sauce. My husband loved them!!!..I will be making them again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Notfromdisearth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States