Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
As someone who supplies a sailboat crew on a distance race with an awesome meal, this is SO easy. I usually use a boneless pork loin roast (on sale - stock up) to eliminate the deboning step and it's a good way to use up that bit of stock left over in the refrigerator. Once I have this completed with the BBQ sauce added I freeze it if it's being used for the race. No freezer aboard so by the second day this is defrosting well. When they're ready for supper they can re-heat on the stove quickly and spoon onto buns for a handheld meal while they're balanced on the upwind (high) side of the boat. I provide some cut veggies or non-sloppy cole slaw to grab and round out the meal. Portable food is a must for this purpose. I really think they crew returns every year for the food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Add a dash of liquid smoke to the meat before cooking for that smokey flavor. We like to seperate the fat from the meat after cooking, and add BBQ sauce. My husband is from Austin, TX and prefers Salt Lick BBQ sauce. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Served this on New years...There was not a smidge left in the pot!! I have to say this was the best tasting and easiest to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We've made this pulled pork for about a year now and it's the best ever! We do add liquid smoke and have found that if we have a pork shoulder and let is cook on low for about 24 hours its just melts in your mouth. My family made me promise not to let it cook overnight as they can't sleep with the incredible aroma that floats around the house. I just can't make that promise. =) Great recipe, easy to do and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sacredjourney

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! So easy to make and so so good! I add 1/2 bottle of BBQ sauce to the slow cooker. Both shoulder and butt roast work well. The meat comes out so tender. I like to top the pork on my sandwich with cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was fantastic and SO easy! I followed the recipe exactly. I was leery of the coffee addition but tried it anyway and found that it didn't give a "coffee" flavor but rather enhanced the flavor of the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is so easy and so good. My daughter works at a BBQ pork and chicken restaurant, and she likes this better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very Nice Sarge. Thanks for the Info this is such a great recipe. thats so easy to make and can be spiced to everyone certain tastes, I myself like to hit it off with alittle crushed red pepper and acouple dashs of toasted seseame oil. gives a awesome flavor. as far as picking out pork to use, find something with nice marbleing. that fat adds a great amount of flavor and will cook down so ya wont even see or have pieces fat in the final product. Thanks again Sarge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this and it is awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I had a great recipe once and lost it. I could only remember it used coffee and liquid smoke. So I altered Sarge's recipe a bit. I omitted the beef broth, used 1 c. brewed coffee, 1 tsp liquid smoke and 1 tbl worcestere. Once the pork pulled off the bone and was finished cooking, I added 1 bottle of sweet baby Rays BBQ Sauce. OMG delish. Sided with my famous baked beans, it was a superb meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States