Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very solid recipe and keeps well for later! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Foster Baer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watseka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very good and very easy for my first time making pulled pork and even using a slow cooker period. Toasted kaiser buns made it taste even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleyD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
My family really liked this at out 4th of July celebration. I made this and used homemade BBQ sauce and it was very tasty and so easy...will definately make again. Thanks for sharing Sarge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
OK, Sarge --- this is the BOMB! Never made it before... was a huge hit with my husband, neighbor and ME! Thank you for a truly super recipe, that is super easy. Made for a great Independence Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Oh my...I can see why this one got so many good ratings!! Rarely do I say that I LOVE a recipe, but I sure do love this one. Made as noted except that I used a boneless pork shoulder roast and rubbed 2 cloves minced garlic and some rib rub onto roast before adding to slow cooker. Used half a can beef broth and cooked for 8 hours. Drained, shredded and added the other half can of beef broth and the Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and cooked for another hour. YUM!!!! This one is a keeper for sure! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
There are a few thing missing here - coming from someone that has requests for my pork at events year after year... 1) apple cider vinegar, it's a must especially if you're from the South. I use a cup and no broth or coffee. Just rub it down with spices and pour the vinegar over the meat. 2) more hours. This should slow cook for 10-12 hours. I've made over a hundred of these things and it definitely needs more time. 3) Leave the fat on before cooking, and be sure it's on top when you put it in the pot. Trust me, it comes right off in the end and completely enhances the juiciness of the meat. There's no need to cut this in half at all. If you cook it as long as I do, the bone falls off, and the meat can be shredded with your fingers. This is better than a fork because you can feel any fat as you pull. Sometimes you can't tell it's fat unless by touch. I hate giving a bad rating but I know that 6-8 hours isn't nearly enough on low, so I'm going to give it four. Hope these comments help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used the amount of beef broth called for and skipped the coffee. Once done I took somebody else's advice and added about a cup of the broth back in the crockpot after chopping the meat, the bottle of bar-b-que sauce (KC Masterpeice) and allowed to cook another 30 minutes, in the crock pot. Really good on Martin's potato rolls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I will be making this for a 3rd time this 4th of July since a Mothers Day Cookout. I use Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. It is especially delicious after 2 days. All the flavors get to meld and yes, everyone says Mmmmm. I tried it with the Amish Slaw on the sandwich and that made the Mmmm's even longer. If you don't like Mayo in your slaw, try the Amish recipe on this site. Fantastic combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This turned out great! I made this for my wedding reception buffet and everyone was raving about it. I threw the pork roast into a large slow cooker before I went to bed and pulled it when I woke up. (the house smelled amazing that morning!) I added Big Al's K.C. BBQ sauce after pulling the pork, and served it with a bowl of the bbq sauce on the side. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Oh yeah! Used the coffee and broth (and just a touch of Liquid Smoke) and the poker party gang was too busy munching and licking fingers to say anything but "MMMmmmmMMMMM!" Gave 'em their choice of Sweet Baby Ray's or my own N. Carolina style sauce and they couldn't stop smacking. Took the time to pull a lot of the fat off the roast after it cooked, but that was the toughest part of the whole recipe. Shredded/chopped it and put it back in the crock pot on warm with a little of the 'jus' and everyone served themselves when ready. Easy, delicious and pleased the whole group. Thanks, Sarge, from an old Navy Chief! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States