Sardines with Sun-Dried Tomato and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Easy and delicious! Will make again and again. Served with plain quinoa to soak up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iloveoliveoil
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
FYI, this recipe will taste great without the sun-dried tomatoes and capers. And you can omit or decrease the amount of cayenne pepper. The key is seasoning with the herbs, garlic and lemon. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great taste and an easy recipe. I would serve this at a party and bet people wouldn't know they were eating sardines. I just added all ingredients together and ate the paste on wasa flat bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy yummy! As iloveolilveoil advises this recipe is super good even without the capers and sun dried tomatoes if you don't have them on hand. I'm easily turned off by the fishy flavour of plain sardines from a can but I've really been trying to find a way to make myself like them. The lemon, garlic and spices balance the strong flavour out very well... it's hard to believe I'm eating sardines! I used canned sardines with jalapeno peppers so to compensate for the spiciness I omitted the red pepper flakes. I think I could eat this everyday its just so easy, healthy and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love this! Just had it for lunch as a sandwich and it was delicious! I left out the capers as I didn't have any and it is some of the most delicious sardines from a can I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very tasty, made as the recipe, and will definately be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made the recipe as written and it was delicious. I enjoy sardines anyway, but I loved how the ingredients brightened up the flavor and took away much of the fishiness. I think this is something I could actually eat in the office without coworkers complaining. :) I spooned it onto crackers for an easy yummy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is going in my easy, healthy dinners for seniors who live alone file. I love to cook but for just me, not so much. I hear my friends say they don' eat very well home alone - no incentive to dirty pots and pans etc. Used Sardines canned in water. Added everything except the pepper flakes, added some diced red onion, and topped it off with a splash of my favorite olive oil. Ate it with Triscuits. Such a tasty, simple way to get my Omega 3's. Will also serve as an appetizer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a quick and easy low carb snack or meal. It's so simple and convenient. The seasonings and lemon complement the sardines very nicely, although I would probably go light on the thyme next time. A little definitely goes a long way with thyme! I added a whole lemon (and wouldn't hesitate to add more) and more crushed red pepper and cayenne because I like a little more spice. I also added paprika and omitted the capers and salt, instead adding about 1/4 cup of pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My father-in-law gave us a Costco mega-pack of sardines, and I've always been a little iffy on them (my husband loves them straight out of the can). This turned out delicious! I mixed the sardines, lemon juice and spices with a fork; stirred in the capers, tomatoes and a little more lemon juice and a couple of chopped kalamata olives. We just scooped it onto crackers for a quick lunch. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States