Sardines with Sun-Dried Tomato and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! I doubled this & made per recipe except for leaving out the thyme (don't have it & hate dried!) I ate 1/2 of it on Kashi heart healthy crackers, so this was a totally nutritious meal as well as tasty & filling. The Oscar's brisling sardines are excellent - not fishy & very tiny fish, so you don't have to deal with bones & scales. I loved getting the chewy pieces of tomato & crunch of capers and I will be making this at least weekly. Thanks for such a simple healthy recipe, iloveoliveoil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a great fast way to get more sardines into your diet (they are packed with goodness and cost so much less than the salmon everyone seems bent on getting us to eat). I made this and served over mixed green with a dressing made from the olive oil the sardines were packed in and lemon juice. I also added a few pitted and coarsely chopped kalamata olives I had on hand. It was delicious! But of course, I bet it would be a five star amazing recipe with fresh Sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My father-in-law gave us a Costco mega-pack of sardines, and I've always been a little iffy on them (my husband loves them straight out of the can). This turned out delicious! I mixed the sardines, lemon juice and spices with a fork; stirred in the capers, tomatoes and a little more lemon juice and a couple of chopped kalamata olives. We just scooped it onto crackers for a quick lunch. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a quick and easy low carb snack or meal. It's so simple and convenient. The seasonings and lemon complement the sardines very nicely, although I would probably go light on the thyme next time. A little definitely goes a long way with thyme! I added a whole lemon (and wouldn't hesitate to add more) and more crushed red pepper and cayenne because I like a little more spice. I also added paprika and omitted the capers and salt, instead adding about 1/4 cup of pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is going in my easy, healthy dinners for seniors who live alone file. I love to cook but for just me, not so much. I hear my friends say they don' eat very well home alone - no incentive to dirty pots and pans etc. Used Sardines canned in water. Added everything except the pepper flakes, added some diced red onion, and topped it off with a splash of my favorite olive oil. Ate it with Triscuits. Such a tasty, simple way to get my Omega 3's. Will also serve as an appetizer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Easy and delicious! Will make again and again. Served with plain quinoa to soak up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made the recipe as written and it was delicious. I enjoy sardines anyway, but I loved how the ingredients brightened up the flavor and took away much of the fishiness. I think this is something I could actually eat in the office without coworkers complaining. :) I spooned it onto crackers for an easy yummy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very tasty, made as the recipe, and will definately be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love this! Just had it for lunch as a sandwich and it was delicious! I left out the capers as I didn't have any and it is some of the most delicious sardines from a can I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was good. But lets face it.. it's canned sardines! So it wasn't mouth watering mm mm good. Still, a quick healthful and budget friendly recipe. I used wild caught organic sardines so for some reason I think they're fishier than regular. I did not add capers, sun dried, or red pepper flakes though next time (there will be a next time) I'll try it. I mixed this into fresh made quinoa which was awesome cause I never know what to put in quinoa. Added fresh diced tomatoes, parm. cheese, and a side of sauteed asparagus. Worked out great. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States