Sara's Spanish Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This was a wonderfully easy and flavorful dish. I really liked the sauce, it was sweet and it made this dish. I used red pepper instead of green, a Texas sweet onion, and mexican tomato sauce. The directions called for making an omelet but the directions were for just scrambled eggs so I added in some mexican cheese to make it so. This was a fantastic dish and seemed really fancy without much effort at all. Thanks Rebecca for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I know everyone has their own twist to their omelets. This one is how done just like Sara likes it so if you don't like it, instead of giving it no stars just advise the reader to look elsewhere.As pointed out, it is not the 'traditional' recipe, just one that uses butter. I prepared it as described, obviously with my own changes...but it was nice.I just wanted the basic know-how
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaleon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Thoroughly enjoyed this dish! Had some tomato sauce I wanted to incorporate into a breakfast dish, so I searched for tomato sauce and eggs and this popped up. Glad it did! Halved the recipe, and added some a half teaspoon of garlic (because everything's better with garlic!). Didn't have Worcestershire sauce, so I added some beef bouillon to give the flavor some depth and put in a dash of smoked Tabasco sauce. Definitely would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snow Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Loved the tomato sauce and actually put it IN the eggs as a scramble and it tasted awesome! My husband put a sour cream/avacado mixture on his and loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is a great and simple meal to put together. It is exactly what I've been searching for since I ate Spanish Omelets in California 20 years ago. Many of us think of "Spanish" meaning Southwestern or Mexican - not literally from Spain, so there is nothing wrong with using butter. And I prefer my omelets without potatoes! Thanks for a great recipe, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Delicious and quick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Very good. I never thought of putting a sauce over omelets! I added some garlic to the sauce as suggested, and I think it could be really played around with - bacon, sausage, mushrooms etc etc. I'll be making this again. Thanks, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
NO SPANIARD WOULD USE BUTTER TO COOK AN OMELET! MY SUGGESTION IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY THE TRADITIONAL AND YUMMY SPANISH OMELET IS TO TRY THE RECIPE SUBMITTED BY PATTY:SPANISH POTATO OMELET(ITS GOT THE RIGHT INGREDIENTS )ALSO I WOULD REMOVE THE EXCESS OIL LEFT AFTER COOKING THE POTATO AND ONION. JUST SOME ADVICE FROM SOMEONE THAT LIVES IN SPAIN. I HOPE YOU TRY IT AND ENJOY IT. IT´S REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Thanks for the recipe, I like to put the sauce inside a larger omelet and fold it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I love Spanish Omelets, but never knew how to make them. This was very tasty. I do have a few suggestion. Definitly use garlic and try a can of diced tomatoes instead of reg sauce, it makes it more chunky. I think the sauce needs more time to simmer to make the flavors blend. Add some shredded cheeses on top and Delicious!!! Thanks for the recipe...I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States