Sara's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Pumpkin pie is my favorite of all pies and this recipe is a keeper. I find , like other reviewers, that the baking time has to be increased. I can't say by how much because it seems to vary. Most times I add an additional 30 minutes and let it sit in the oven with the door cracked for a bit longer before cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
this was my first pumpkin pie! i think it came out pretty good! I did make a shortbread crust and omitted the cloves.Very tasty my daughter will be very happy when she arives home from school PUMPKIN PIE is her FAVORITE!!! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I loved the pie - that part was definitely a 5-star. The problem was that the recipe is for one nine-inch pie, and in retrospect, I guess it means one deep-dish pie? It filled 2 standard pieshells (not deep-dish)and the timing for those was perfect (a bit jiggly in the middle when they came out, but perfect after letting them settle for awhile) and I got 2 pies! I can definitly see, though, that for a deep-dish pieshell, you'd have to add time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent recipe. I love the texture of this pie. I did make a couple of changes just because I prefer brown sugar and more cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I ended up with WAY more than enough of the liquid... I doubled it to make two and ended up just making three... with some left over! I kept re reading the recipe, but I definitely did it right and had boatloads of extra. But it was delicious! Next time I might add a smidge more cinnamon and nutmeg, maybe less cloves. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I noticed that if you plan on making a lot of pumpkin pies it is just easier to buy the pumpkin pie spice which combines the cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, allspice, and cloves. Just add the amount for each spice to get the amount of pumpkin pie spice that you need (2 1/2 tsp) and it turns out just perfect without having to measure out and find all of these different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Did a comparison of the old family recipie to this, it almost came out better. It's a little watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very good! Lots of compliments. I used a 12oz can of evap. milk and a reg. size can of pumpkin. turned out great. I did bake it longer like some of the other reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen468

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe was very tasty. Exactly what I expected! After reading some reviews I was afraid of the pie being a bit soggy, so I baked it on the higher temperature for an extra 5 minutes. Everyone at work loved it..great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States