Sara's Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
First time making beef jerky. This was excellent! Friends also loved this recipe. I reduced cooking time by 1 hour for more tender result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
My husband thought the flavor of the jerky was very good, but thought it was too crunchy. I'll try it again and reduce the cooking time to give it the chewier texture that he likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
almost as good as company's coming recipe. Added liquid smoke to improve jerky taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
marinate overnight and then dry it at 150 for 6-8 hours instead of 200 and it won't crisp as much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was very good. My kids love jerky and have me make it every year for vacation. I made just a couple of adjustments. I used a dehydrator and I added some tobassco sauce just to give it a bit of a kick. I shook in about 5 squirts but should have used more. I can eat it and I'm a sissy girl. My kids love it hot & spicy, and really enjoy the flavor, but wanted more kick. I'll try again. Anyway, thanks Sara. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Beef jerky was great. I sent some to my husbands office and everyone there enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Very Good Jerky! I did marinate it overnight for extra flavor. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
personally i don't like the jerky in the store but my husband does so i tried making Sara's at home and it was great. i never touch his store bought jerky but this one we share. watch your time for desired chewiness. check every hour. lots of oven time and expensive beef needed but hey thats jerky i guess. oh and dont forget red pepper flakes for heat! if ya like heat like us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I liked parts of this recipe, but I changed it up a bit. firsty, I like to trim and cut the sirloin myself. So I put it in the freezer for about 45 minutes, then trimed the fat and cut it into 1/4" thick strips. Then I use a meat tenderizer to pound it to about 1/8" thick. The main reason I switched from store bought was to avoid harmful things, like Nitrates. I also course ground some pepper over the racks, before putting in the oven. And I set the oven to about 160 degrees F. Overall, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Stern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States