Sara's Awesome Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Pretty great. My first-time-through modifications (based on everyone else's reviews) are also my recommendations: - go a little light on the flour (either sift it or fluff the flour as you scoop out your cupfuls) - go a little heavy on the pureed pumpkin - DOUBLE the pumpkin pie spice - add 1 tsp. cinnamon - before putting in oven, sprinkle top of loaves with chopped pecans (or other nuts) and a blend of cinnamon & sugar I used four mini-loaf pans and baked them for 50 minutes at the recommended temp - they came out perfect. A lovely color, texture and flavor - pecans perfectly roasted. Recipe seems like it would accommodate even more moisture. For a denser bread, perhaps add another egg, more pumpkin, or a little applesauce next time? xox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
If I would have reviewed this recipe the day I made it, I would only have given it three stars. It didn't immediately have the strong spice and pumpkin flavor I was looking for. However, the next day I tried it again and I changed my mind. This is a moist bread that keeps well and improves in flavor. Next time I think I will top with a cinnamon-sugar mixture as mentioned in a previous review (just to see if it makes a difference on that first day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very good. I added 1-1/2 cups of raisins that had been plumped in boiling water, cloves, nutmeg and a touch of ginger along with a lots of cinnamon Yummy, definitely a 5 star recipe from the whole gang, I mixed this by hand with a wire whisk and a spatula so easy too, always a bonus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
When I made this bread my family and friends inhailed the bread. A change of pace you could add nuts to the bread to make it more interesting. (use 1 cup of chopped nuts in the mixture, place it in last) ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Really great bread! So good, I gave it as gifts. I did a bit more cinnamon along with the pumpkin pie spice. I also added raisens and walnuts. It was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
It wasn't very moist, although the flavor was fine. But, I don't think I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I won't make it again. The last word I would use for this recipe is "awesome." It was dry, salty, and below average. I made it 3 times. The first time, it was dry and salty. The second time, I added raisins and walnuts. It tasted dry and salty but with raisins and walnuts. The third time, I added extra sugar, extra oil and one additional egg (along with the raisins and walnuts; this third time, it was a completely different recipe and tasted pretty good...but still not "awesome." Bottom line, don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This Recipe is AWESOME!!! I made it with 3 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. The bread came out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This bread was very moist.I followed the recipe,butI checked for doneness at 50 mins. It took 55 mins. to cook. I would add raisens,pecans and maybe a little more pumpkin pie spice next time,but still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Toledo, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
It truly was awesome. Thank you! I added rum soaked raisins and pecans to the recipe the second go around not sure it made it any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States