Sarah's Tofu Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by timmy354321
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I used about 8 cups of water and made my own egg noodles. Fantastic vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Unreal. I can't believe there's only 2 tbs of butter in this! I forwent the raisins like a few others. I also didn't have the fake chicken broth so I used 6 chicken flavored bullion cubes (fake chicken, vegetarian cubes). I also used only 10 cups of water, added another cup of egg noodles, and the last of my frozen peas (about a cup and a half) it came out just the right consistency. Holy smokes, the flavor is great and it made my kitchen smell wonderful! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I loved this soup. I made it much as written, except used Gardein "chic'n" scallopini cutlets for half the tofu, regular tofu for the rest. Next time, I'll use all scallopini, it is very flavorful. The broth was great, I added peas. I used Imagine chicken less broth, it was all the store had, but it was very good and rich. I put the noodles in at the end, as others suggested, and used sturdy kluski type noodles. I couldn't make myself put the raisins in. This was a very good, rich, and tasty soup, and I will be making it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I made it last night for a Monday night dinner and not only is it easy enough for a weeknight, but my husband loved it. I used the dumpling noodles, which I love anyway, and used vegetable broth because I couldn't find the kind called for in the recipe. I added more salt because my broth didn't have a whole lot. As for the other seasonings, I really only used the poultry seasoning and black pepper (and a bit of thyme.) I also added peas because I thought they looked pretty. And one more change - I sauteed the tofu with the veggies for just a bit to give it some flavor. My husband usually HATES celery, so I left it big enough for him to pick out but he wound up liking it. I didn't have to use the cornstarch mixture, but I could see how it would be a nice thickening agent if your soup was thin. I will most certainly be making this recipe again and again this fall and winter, especially since I keep most of the ingredients on hand. A soup that's this easy is always nice to have in the arsenal. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was good and wholesome but pretty bland, even thougg the tofu worked great. However, would not make it again without a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This soup was surprisingly like chicken noodle soup. The cubes of tofu held up well in the cooking, and they were remarkably like the little cubes of chicken you get in canned chicken soup. I agree with the reviewers who said the soup was too thin, so I would reduce the broth next time. I chopped my veggies small so that they would cook as quickly as the recipe suggested, but they were still slightly underdone. My noodles were slightly overdone, too, so I'll have to do a bit of adjustment. The raisins weren't a bad idea, but I don't think they added much and wouldn't use them again. Definitely worth another try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
very near match for the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is so yummy & easy! My husband & I love to make it together on a night when we want to eat something light and healthy but satisfying. Also, it is a staple when someone in the house is not feeling well. It is easy to adjust to your liking by adding whatever veggies, herbs, spices you prefer. I mostly stick to the original recipe because it is really perfect as is. Great simple to make and wonderful to eat recipe, thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIARENE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Just a great recipe! I chose to use 2 cloves of garlic and added the herbs before boiling as another reporter suggested. Loving raisins, I used 1 cup and plan even more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Love this recipe! Haven't been bold enough to try rasins but have added a bit of fennel instead of celery and it turned out great. I don't put tofu in either-- it's hearty enough on it's own with a bit of baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States