Sarah's Spinach Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Hello, I am the submitter of this recipe. Please, do not use: minced garlic or heavy cream. This is meant to be a quick homestyle spinach dish or the type you would eat with meatloaf or something similar. The spinach needs the stronger taste of the ground spices. It will be bland with fresh garlic. This is not an Italian garlic spinach or a fancy dish. I put it together for something quick for a weeknight or to get kids or husbands who don't normally eat spinach to learn to love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I don't usually stray from the way I do spinach since my son doesn't like to much done with it. But I wanted to try this so I took a chance. I thought it was really good. My son poked at it and whined about why I was messing with his spinach, finally convinced him to try it and he loved it. He ended up eating 3 servings and scraped the bowl of the leftovers :) Love when that happens. Good thing I doubled the recipe! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This recipe is a quick and easy (and is still healthy) way to fancy up spinach and tastes great. I enjoyed it because it has a subtle creamy flavor and texture with just enough seasoning that doesn't take away the taste of the spinach itself. Went very nice with the well seasoned grilled chicken we had and was good too because it didn't compete with the main entry it complimented it. I know I'll make this often. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This could not be simpler and it was yummy too! I did not have whipped butter, so used just regular stick butter. I also used a whole bag of spinach that I had on hand. I chopped it a little and just threw in the pan (no need to boil) after the sauce had thickened and it turned out perfect. Other than that followed recipe - took about 5 min. from start to finish! I will make this again and will use fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very easy to make! Everything was consumed...not a drop of Spinach left. I couldn't believe it. Didn't have to change a thing. Made a wonderful sidedish for a parmesan breaded chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very tasty! I used 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic, a pinch of nutmeg and additional milk to make it more sauce-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Wish I could give it 3.5 stars. Would probably be better with cream, sauteed garlic, and grated parm mixed in. Could also add red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I love spinach balls but haven't been a big fan of just plain cooked spinach...until now. This is good and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was a nice change from our usual spinach dish of garlic, oil and crushed red pepper. I did use soy milk in place of regular milk. It cam together easily and everyone enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
It was really good. Stick to the recipe! You will like it. This was very good this evening with a steak and scalloped potatoes. Use the seasonings in the recipe. I used whole milk and butter. I ate all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States