Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This salsa was a huge hit. I used 3 serrano peppers instead of 1 jalapeno - it had some kick that is for sure! Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Just like in the resturant. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Delicious and easy. I used just one can of the tomatoes and one can of tomatoes w/green chilis. Used a serrano chili instead of jalapeno, and a brown onion instead. Added more fresh cilantro (like that flavoring). And only blended it all for about 5 seconds so it didn't get too soupy. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Awesome salsa! has the same texture and flavor as the salsa that they serve at Mexican Restaurants. I added an extra jalapeno, only put in one can of the diced tomatos with the green chiis, and added a little salt. Will be making this again for sure. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I needed a good, quick salsa recipe and this one was the perfect starting point for me. I made a few changes based on my own tastes. I used 1 can of regular diced tomatoes and 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (the ones with green chiles). I use lime instead of lemon because that just makes more sense. I use an entire onion, again my taste. 2 or 3 cloves of fresh garlic. No hot sauce because that's just weird in salsa, and I use 1 or 2 serano peppers instead of jalapenos because I think it's a better tasting pepper. I mix this up in a food processor and let sit overnight. It's the only salsa I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Quick... EASY... and GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This salsa is SO good. I've made it twice already and am going to make it again tonight. I've stuck to the recipe on everything but the type of tomatoes - I've used a variety of canned (i think having some crushed and then the diced with chiles in there tastes good) and fresh. I also didn't add any hot sauce. We like it mild. And I don't blend until completely smooth. But it is pretty smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was just ok. I actually liked the consistancy, but the flavor was missing something. Made it exactly as it reads with name brand tomatoes, but it tasted canned. The next day I added 2 tsp of chili powder, a bit more garlic, and antother jalepeno, which helped. This does make A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Excellent!! Far better than the salsa in any of the chain Mexican Restaurants I've ever been in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States