Sarah's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Soooo easy to make and delicious too! I have been using this recipe for years and it is high time to review it! I make it according to the directions, but do not blend it. I use an onion chopper that I have so everything gets thrown in and is diced together instead of making it smooth. I use a smaller sized Jalepeno pepper and it is the perfect amount. This recipe is just too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
canned toms in salsa is a new concept for me. what a great idea for homemade salsa during the winter. i added some cumin, more garlic, a little salt, and sugar. to me, salsa is like mexican rice. everyone has their own taste so use this as a base and adjust to your liking. i will be making salsa w/ canned toms from now on during the non growing season. i did use bottled lemon juice which worked fine but i would suggest lime. i didnt need the hot sauce but i left a lot of the ribs in my peppers for heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
VERY simple to make... great flavor. I followed this recipe, making a few changes as others suggested. Depending on your level of handling spicyness... you may want to add half of a serrano pepper instead of a whole one. I chopped up a whol eserrano, leaving the seeds along with it and it had quite a bit of a kick (next time I will use half). I also used 2 limes, great flavor! Leaving it in the fridge overnight definately enhanced the overall flavor. I will use this recipe over and over from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Very easy to toss together and is loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knoxlette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
not the best, i did everything how it said to make it except i used 2 jalepenos instead of one. I like salsa thats spicy. It might be just because i dont like tomatoes. (it calls for lots of tomatoes!) And also the cilantro does not taste good in this! I do not recomend if you like spicy salsa, and or do not like tomatoes very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was sooo easy. I will be honest, when it was finished, I tried it and was insanely disappointed. I put it in the fridge and gave it another chance the next day. SOO GOOD! Only downside is that it has to wait and chill before being so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We enjoyed this with our tacos. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythreeboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
The family loved this salsa. Everyone said it tastes just like a Mexican restraunts. Next time I will drain some of the juice from the tomatoes, it gets a little watery after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Even with all the praise this recipe has earned I was not expecting to get a product this PERFECT from home - and using canned tomatoes at that! I love love LOVE salsa in mexican restaurants and while not the best I've ever tasted, this is so close to it I have no need nor desire to try and find another recipe. I feel the key to the this is using FRESH onions, jalepenos, and cilantro. It just transforms the tomatoes, I've tasted the salsa blend at just tomatoes and after adding the produce and the difference is stark. I personally leave out the hot pepper sauce and garlic. EXODUSMOM, you have transformed my kitchen and cost Pace hundreds of dollars in revenue: thanks so very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had high hopes given all the great reviews, but this salsa really fell short of expectations. It had too much of a canned tomato taste. Maybe I'm spoiled living in CA where authentic Mexican salsa abounds, but I will not bother trying to make this again. My attempts to doctor it up still yielded a less than satisfactory product. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States