Sarah's Roasted Red Pepper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very good. I used store bought red peppers, so they were already in vinegar. I didn't add the extra vinegar as a result. I'm so grateful, now I don't have to buy it anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very flavorful! I was out of sour cream, so substituted with cream cheese, but I should have softened it a bit first before putting in the food processor as the dip turned out a little lumpy. I will definitely use sour cream next time. I used a jar of roasted red peppers rather than going through the hassle of roasting my own, and on the recommendation of other reviews, I used balsamic vinegar. I would say the balsamic vinegar is the star 'secret' ingredient as it brings out the best of all the other flavors. Thank you for sharing, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Wow! I used roasted red peppers from a jar, and the vinegar I used was balsamic, as one reviewer suggested. The flavor of this dip is just amazing. The roasted red pepper flavor is enhanced by the balsamic and tomato paste, and the cayenne pepper adds just the right amount of kick. My favorite veggies with this dip were blanched snow peas, but I almost wanted to just eat this by itself as a soup! As a dip it was a little thin, so I'd add a bit of cream cheese to the mix, but that is my only suggestion for improvement. This was amazing and I will definitely be making it on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
The roasting part took the most work, but it was worth it. The recipe wasmn't clear on whether to cool the peppers down before placing them in the plastic bag. I was worried about melting the plastic or releasing chemicals by putting hot pepprs inside. I cooled them down a bit first and that worked fine. I substituted garlic powder, because I had no more fresh. I also used 4 tablespoons of 1/2 fat mayo and left out the sour cream. It was delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
needed to add a few extra TBSP of may...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
While I don't personally like sweet dressings nor roasted red peppers, particularly. This dip was a beautiful and welcome addition to the veggie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGEDOLIVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
A wonderful & quick dip! I didn't roast my own peppers for lack of time so I just used bottled pre-roasted red peppers. I also used Miracle Whip Lite and Fat Free Sour Cream. I accidently left out the cayenne pepper, but I will add it next time. It was a very nice kicky dip to have for crackers or veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerry
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Awesome dip!! Followed recipe exactly and it tastes better and fresher than any of the store bought kinds I've had. Definately will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Wonderful dip! I used roasted garlic as suggested above. Also roasted a small onion. Thought it was going to be too runny but after a day in the fridge it was perfect.THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Not terrible, but not fabulous either. It was a little runny, and seemed to be lacking something in the flavour department. I'll keep looking for a good, cheeseless dip to serve as part of an appetizer table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States