Sarah's Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
When I first decided to make this recipe, I was little dubious because the ingredients didn't seem too exciting. Boy, was I wrong! This dish was incredibly good...something that I would definitely make again! The taste/texture was similar to Rice-a-Roni, but so much better, without that packaged taste. I topped it with chopped chives for a little more color, and everyone loved it. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Just average. While I wanted something more subtle to go with the main dish, I still was looking for something more flavorful than this. Surprising, since one would have thought that since I used a flavored, specialty orzo medley along with the onion, garlic and chicken broth, that wouldn't have been the case. Definitely needs a hint of seasoning of some sort. Still, a perfectly acceptable companion to a heartier, more robustly flavored main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Outstanding recipe! Certainly proof that "the whole is greater than the sum of its parts." Served plain with roast chicken, turned the leftovers into fried rice the next day. Used organic chicken broth and brown basmati rice. To reduce cooking time for basmati rice, soak it in warm water to cover for 20 minutes, then drain & add to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Don't be mad; I wanted to rate this recipe even though I made changes. I used spaghetti broken into 1 inch pieces because I didn't have orzo. I left out the garlic and onion because I wanted it to taste "plain" so that it didn't compete with my flavorful main dish. So all I used was pasta, butter, rice, and broth and it was delicious!! Greater than the sum of its parts for sure, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marywether07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Perfect! I searched everywhere for a simple Rice Pilaf recipe with Orzo. This was exactly what I had in mind. So simple, yet SO flavorful. I did use long grain brown rice and low sodium chicken broth to make the dish slightly healthier. We will absolutely be making this a staple in our home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Halls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
When I made this recipe, I found it to be a little, O.K., alot bland. But, I did use homemade chicken broth, and while very tasty, it was not overly salted. Perhaps using store bought broth would be more flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly, and I did feel the measurements are spot-on. It makes enough for four people, and the liquid ratio is perfect with the dry ingredients. Once I salted at the stove and the table, I found this to be a really tasty side dish I plan to serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I added half a green pepper like one of the other reviewers suggested, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
tasted better than any box pilaf and I used broken spaghetti noodles because i didn't have any orzo pasta...tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlastein0418

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This recipe is delicious with a few additions! I always double the recipe but follow the steps exactly, except when it comes time to add the onion I also add diced carrots and mushrooms (I never measure this but its probably about 1/2-3/4 cup each). Then, when I add the stock I also include about 1/2-3/4 c. of frozen peas. After everything has cooked and the rice has absorbed all the liquid, I gently stir in about 1/4-1/2 lb. of slivered toasted almonds (I always end up buying the almonds raw and dry toasting them myself). With these additions my family and friends love this recipe, and I get requests for it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
You cannot get any easier than this and the best part is that it is absolutely delicious. This is 100x better than any boxed rice can be. The only thing I added was a little salt, because of the low sodium broth I used. I also don't measure the onion, just chopped half of a big onion and threw it in. It pairs quite well with roasted chicken and butternut squash. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States