Sarah's Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is REALLY good even just as a meal by itself. I added 1 tsp of Worstchire sauce + 1tsp of Soy sauce, and a couples pinches each of Oregano, Thyme, ground Sea Salt, and Basil. I also used an extra tbsp of Butter. Turned out AMAZING and I are the entire pan by myself (whoops)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
One star off for simple nutrient trade offs that increase nutrient density and lower Glycemic Index. I did change a few things to make it a bit healthier. By trading every tbs of butter for 1 tbs olive oil you are getting less saturated (harmful fatty acid 2g vs. 7g) fat ad more monounsaturated fat healthful fatty acid 9g vs. 4g). Also this recipe is full of carbs. For lower Glycemic index keep orzo (GI 48) and replace rice (GI 73) with barley (GI 28) or Garbanzo beans (GI28)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Great recipe, I have made this so many times and you can do so much with it. I just add vegetables, or whatever during the last 10 minutes of cooking and it comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this for a dinner party and it was a hit. When I make it again I will add a few more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Forget about those boxed rice pilafs. This recipe is great prepared as is, or it can be dressed up in many different ways. Be sure to brown the orzo. Just makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is a really good side dish. I did add salt to taste, which made it less bland.javascript:void(0); Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Fantastic base side dish!! Easily adaptable to whatever your tastes are. I added about 2 tbsp of chopped fresh parsley and it was a fantastic addition. I would advise adding salt however as it is a tad bland without it. I added a tsp of garlic salt after it was done and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I usually just make white rice in my rice cooker but I love the taste of rice pilaf and this is great! Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
WOW! This was simply fantastic!!! Both my hubs and I loved the delicate flavor of this easy side dish. If you're looking for BOLD flavors, this might not be for you.... The onion, garlic and butter add a very subtle note to this simple, basic pilaf. Toasting the orzo also adds another layer of flavor, so don't skip that step! On that note, get your orzo good and brown. Don't burn it (stir every now and then, adjusting the heat as necessary), but do be SURE it is a nice golden brown color. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Sarah! This was the best part of our meal. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Love to make this recipe and goes with many meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States