Sarah's Knish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is my recipe. I just wanted to let people know that the dough in this recipe is not of the flaky pastry variety. This is more of a very thin strudel-like casing. If you are looking for the flaky pastry type dough, you could roll out a thawed puff pastry sheet and use that. :) Oh, and you really don't need 1/4 cup of vegetable oil for the onions...I think that's a typo. Just use enough oil to saute them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Julia I.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Excellent. To see photos of these being prepared, visit my facebook page (look up Izenberg's Catering - in Conshohocken, PA). When there, click on photos and look for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is an excellent, easy recipe! The filling is simple yet flavorful, and you can easily create variations by adding cheese, meat, or other vegetables. The pastry was easy to handle, cooked well, and tasted delicious. The one problem was that the filling bubbled out the bottom and sides during cooking, so seal them nice and tight, and leave a vent in the top. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
The flavor was excellent, however it did not look like yours. Yours looks like you wraped the dough around the potato mixture individualy, and pinched together on top. Where did I go wrong? Your instructions were a bit ambiguious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These came out perfectly! I was so impressed. I am typically not good at making any kind of dough, but I followed exactly and it came out the perfect texture and thickness. It was also very pliable, and I found it easy that once I cut the logs into pieces, to pull the edges together and kind of wrap them around the bottoms to form a ball. I know it's not kosher, but I added cheese and butter to mine and I thought the potato mixture was some of the best I ever had. I think I will start using it for my normal mashed potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
The filling was amazing. That being said, I've talked with my fully raised Jewish grandmother and more than a few devout Jews who keep kosher and they've all agreed that the casing is all wrong. I'd suggest using a casing more flaky/buttery with club soda and margarine for a more savory and delicious taste. This casing will only taste good with intense meat flavors, imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Strapple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Well I was in a rush to make these last night for a potluck and they turned out great. Thanks for a simple recipe! My Jewish and vegetarian friends liked them a lot. I used Irish butter instead of veg oil and served them with Gorgonzola cheese sauce. Yummie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
These were fantastic! I made them for a New York-themed potluck at work. No one here had eaten a knish before, but everyone enjoyed them. The dough is thin and delicious and the potato filling is surprisingly flavorful for something so simple. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I have never had traditional knish, so I am not sure how close to that, this is. I can say that even the picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TartResponse
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Came out delicious, Sarah. Thank you! I've been on a quest for good knishes ever since I left NYC and the craving hit me really strong today, so I decided to find a recipe and try to make some myself. This was super easy and came out just right. Side note: I used margarine instead of veg oil and added cream cheese to the filling because I love cream cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States