Sarah's Knish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Brought these to a party, and they were a hit. Great flavor! Dough was very elasticy, so I let it "rest" for a 5-10 minutes, and that helped in rolling out. Hand shaping them took time, but I will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Prepared this for dinner last evening as an appetizer with a simple butter sauce on top. Guests were very complimentary. One guest had never eaten knish and was quite pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
was nice but the filling needed more salt and black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Not to bad i think that they could use some more seasongs but my duaghter loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My friend made these at a party and they disappeared so fast...everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TartResponse
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Came out delicious, Sarah. Thank you! I've been on a quest for good knishes ever since I left NYC and the craving hit me really strong today, so I decided to find a recipe and try to make some myself. This was super easy and came out just right. Side note: I used margarine instead of veg oil and added cream cheese to the filling because I love cream cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
The filling was amazing. That being said, I've talked with my fully raised Jewish grandmother and more than a few devout Jews who keep kosher and they've all agreed that the casing is all wrong. I'd suggest using a casing more flaky/buttery with club soda and margarine for a more savory and delicious taste. This casing will only taste good with intense meat flavors, imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Strapple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia I.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Excellent. To see photos of these being prepared, visit my facebook page (look up Izenberg's Catering - in Conshohocken, PA). When there, click on photos and look for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These came out perfectly! I was so impressed. I am typically not good at making any kind of dough, but I followed exactly and it came out the perfect texture and thickness. It was also very pliable, and I found it easy that once I cut the logs into pieces, to pull the edges together and kind of wrap them around the bottoms to form a ball. I know it's not kosher, but I added cheese and butter to mine and I thought the potato mixture was some of the best I ever had. I think I will start using it for my normal mashed potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Dannon Oikos Twice-Baked Potatoes

These reduced calorie, twice-baked potatoes are a family favorite.

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States