Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I doubled this recipe. I had half of an onion to use, I just chopped it up and threw that in instead of measuring out two tablespoons. I also added four cloves of fresh minced garlic and was a little more liberal with the spices as well. Everyone who ate the meat (I did not have any and neither did my Aunt who does not eat meat) said that it was very good. Out of a doubled recipe, there's enough for one big lunch for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is an easy recipe to put together, I used soft and hard tacos. I thought it needed more seasoning. I added garlic powder and 1tblsp. of chile powder, This is probably a preference thing, because I love extra spicy. Loved the idea of using chicken. Thay were very good and I will make these often. You have to give them a try!Thaks for this recipe, Baker Bee, Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Definitely easy and not to mention very tasty! I love beef tacos, but chicken is a great alternative. Plus this recipe is perfect for times when you want something simple and quick to put together. I cooked my onion in olive oil vs. vegetable oil and since I had "Seasoning for Tacos" from this site already made I used a little of that for seasoning. Delicious in warm soft or hard shell tacos with all the fixin's - shredded cheese, chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce, hot sauce and sour cream. Thanks for a great recipe Baker Bee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
For best results, follow the flavorings as suggested. It's meant to be simple! Then, add additional heat or other flavorings as needed. I intended this to be quicker than 6 hour crock-pot recipes, which was all I kept finding, and mild enough for children or adults. It shreds very easily and works great in a hard shell taco with lettuce, tomato, and cheese. Not an authentic recipe for shredded taco chicken, but a quick method for those pinched for time and want a healthier option, in addition to, or to serve with, traditional ground beef. Thank you for trying my recipe and this very easy method of cooking shredded chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicious and easy. Changes I made were, I added brown/white rice and salsa verde instead of tomato sauce since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This easy recipe became the base for an instant family favourite. I use three chicken breasts (I don't know if they would qualify as small), a 15oz can of tomato sauce (we like our meat with suace), 1 heaping tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of chili powder (really I used an Ethiopian red pepper mix). I also added sea salt to taste. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was very tasty and super easy. I love chicken tacos. I changed the serving size to 12, I have 2 teen boys whose stomachs are bottomless pits these days. I cooked the chicken in the crockpot since it was going to be a busy day. Because I used a crockpot I seasoned the chicken with cumin, chili powder, chicken bullion, garlic and some minced onion. Shredded the chicken up and then followed the rest of the cooking instructions. Served this with the usual toppings. Had enough to feed the boys and the rest of us with a little bit leftover for lunch. This makes awesome chicken quesadillas too! Family loved these. I'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe Baker Bee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This recipe is as easy as it gets! Followed recipe with the exception of adding salt to taste and more cumin and chili powder. Served with lettuce, sour cream, jalapeno peppers, tomatoes and taco style cheese. I want to try this as an appetizer served in the Scoop shells. Thanks Sarah for sharing this great alternative to beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was very good! I had to make MASS (9 lbs of chicken!) amounts for our taco bar party and I had to figure out how to keep it warm. So, I boiled the chicken meat and shredded it like directed but instead of simmering in the pot. I combined the seasonings, onion and tomato sauce in the bottom of a slow cooker along with some garlic and a few splashes of chicken broth. I then added the shredded chicken and mixed it well. I While I prepared everything else, I set my slow cooker on 3 hours on low and let it stay on warm to keep it heated. Turned out WONDERFUL! I had leftovers in which I made a vegetable & chicken soup out of. This is versatile and can be used in lots of different things, not only some tasty tacos... Thanks Baker Bee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I gave this 4 stars b/c I added alot to it ....but it was PHENOMENAL. I added chicken broth and tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. I also added garlic and salt and way more of the spices listed. It was delicious in a warmed soft taco with all the fixings!! We will make it many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States