Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was great. Didn't use all the rub and it was a 5.5 lb chick. Could only get 1/2 an onion in it. Definitely cook at least 12 min.a lb. Which is what I do for a free range turkey. You'd think a small chick. would be less. Anyhow I kept it in the refer over night. And served it to guests..serve experiments to the guests! LOL. I did the first 10 min at 450 and had the breast up and after the 10 min turned it over and turned the oven down to 350...so the breast was down. More moist that way. It was flavorful and moist! A very good recipe and I am picky! I will do it again and again and again!Well when I remember to do it the night before! I would recommend "soaking"it over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
One of the BEST dry chicken rubs....This recipe is a keeper. We used a whole chicken in our rotisserie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I now keep a jar of this dry rub in my spice cabinet so I have it handy, it is so good. I use it on more than chicken, it is a great rub on pork tenderloin as well. It makes a perfect rub for a rotisserie chicken, better than any store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe for roasted chicken! What a wonderful blend of herbs and spices! I rubbed the chicken and let it marinate for a full 24 hours which I highly recommend. Perfect for Sunday dinner. Thanks for a great recipe Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Very good rub but do not put too much of it on...and also this recipe definitely need to be marinated otherwise the flavors of the rub do not really get into the chicken. Omit pepper if you do not like it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
GREAT dry rub for chicken! the only thing I left out was the onion because I didn't have any on hand and I was short on time, so instead of letting it marinade for a few hours I rubbed on & baked. It turned out really flavorful and the drippings made for an excellent gravy. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
We enjoyed this rub on a chicken and some sliced, roasted potatos. I would probably adjust for taste if we used it again, decreasing the sage and coriander a bit. One onion was enough for a 4.5lb chicken cook time was definitely more than 1.5 hours. I would probably increase the temperature a little in the future for a crispier skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was very good. I did not have enough cayenne pepper nor did I have any onion powder, (used dried onion flakes), garlic powder, (used garlic salt and omitted sea salt) nor did I have any paprika. But this still turned out really good. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Left out the cayenne and rubbed this into chicken thighs then grilled them. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
this created a wonderful rub, my husban is not much of a chicken eater......but it was the first thing cleared from his plate. he loved it. which mean he will be having it often. I used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken because we are only too and i hate to waste food. thank you so much for a great recipe. i will be using it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States