Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Just a note from the creator of this recipe: It was edited to recommend cooking it for two hours or until 180 degrees. This is not the way I would advise. One rotisserie-sized chicken should not take any longer than 1 1/2 hours, at most. Also, the temperature will continue to rise with resting. Feel free to cook the chicken in your normal fashion, the recipe cook times here are obviously on the cautious side! :) PS- This recipe can also be used on chicken breasts or pieces, and should make enough to be used more than once, depending on the size of the bird or how many pieces used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I only made the spice mix so my review is based on that. We absolutely love it! I've been using it as an all purpose lower salt mix on everything. Very flavorful. I did use less sage to make it more all purpose. I only had celery flakes instead of seed. I used a bit less salt, but only because my husband has high blood pressure & we eat very low salt. Thanks for the recipe! I'll be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe for roasted chicken! What a wonderful blend of herbs and spices! I rubbed the chicken and let it marinate for a full 24 hours which I highly recommend. Perfect for Sunday dinner. Thanks for a great recipe Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This kind of chiken I serve each Friday dinner to my children and grandchildren...:) I just omit the onion, I refrigerate it for nearly 8 hours, bake it in in a pre heated 375 F hot oven for ONLY 1 1/4 hours, it come crispy and so moist , not dry at all. Baste once during the baking. Instead of whole chicken I use only the lower parts of the chicken. ( leg and thigh) Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinap

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I have never actually roasted a whole chicken before so this was a big step for me. I didn't have all the ingredients (celery seed) but it tasted great. What I did differently...added a little olive oil to the skin and then roasted it at 450 for 15' to crisp the top and then at 350 for the duration which was about an hour and a half. It turned out very moist and very tasty. There were nice juices on the bottom of the pan that would make a righteous gravy. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I haven't tried this one yet but I am going out to get the ingredients I don't have! I have a suggestion for almost any roast chicken- sprinkle the chicken/pieces liberally with ground ginger and/or add some to the other ingredients. It just does something to enhance the flavor even more, and you can't really taste the ginger as ginger itself, even if the ginger is all you use before the baking. I have been doing this for years. I did this with the Thanksiving turkey this year and our guest said it was the best ever and what did I do to it?? Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
not sure wht went wrong, but this was so dry. I think it needs oil and butter on the outside and inside to moisten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2elinate
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was quite delicious! On Sarah's recommendation I tired it with some drumsticks and split breasts I had on hand. Everyone loved it! I had only used a dry rub on ribs before and was not sure how it would turn out on poultry. It was so good! Definitely a keeper and will make often. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
We really enjoyed this one, more than others I’ve done in the past!! Thank you, Sarah!! The seasoning blend is wonderful and I liberally coated the entire bird, which gave it tons of flavor. Yesterday on the Recipe Buzz, I caught up with Sarah and she suggested using the seasoning blend on veggies, in particular potatoes. Now, that’s one I’ll have to try soon. Well, I knew ahead of time that this chicken was going to be delicious, because my kitchen smelled fabulous while this was roasting away. We’ll be enjoying some of the leftovers in chicken sandwiches tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My hubby took one bite of the half turkey breast from Trader Joe's and said, "YUM!" That says it all to me. I put a healthy dose of the herbs under the skin and more on top. I roasted this for two hours on 350. Perfect! The flavors of the herbs blended well together. I saved some of the rub in my empty dried parsley container for another time. Delicious, Sarah! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States