Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
This seasoning blend was fantastic! It had the right amount of kick to it without being too spicy for the kids (or me!). I mixed up the spices, and then used it for a whole chicken in the crock pot, and it turned out great. So easy and uses spices that we have around the house all the time, so no need for any extra shopping trips. Great recipe that I'm sure I will be making again! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
"Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken" is the perfect meal in the category of "quick and easy" although it does take time to cook. It was very tasty. I had 9 tablespoons of spice mixture, which I think is enough to make this recipe at least 4 times. I cut my chicken open along the spine and laid it out flat in my open enameled cast-iron pan, and it browned up very nicely this way. I will be inclined to throw some potatoes and carrots underneath it next time. Thank you Sarah for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Fantastic Rub love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken Haiku: "Reduced recipe, and used on two chicken breasts. Oh my, this is good!" I rubbed this on thick and goopy on two chubby chicken breasts, put in fridge for recommended 4 hrs., browned both sides 2-3 min. over med-hi in half butter/half EVOO, and finished off in a 350 deg. oven for 20 min. Smelled divine, perfect chicken moisture and texture, and taste was outstanding - even w/ all of those seasonings that went into it, none overpowered any of the others - they all came together so beautifully that I've recently made a triple batch of this to keep in a tuperware and use on chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
wow the seasoning blend was awesome! i cut the recipe in half and used it on a 5 lb chicken.. i made sure to rub the mix under the skin and on top.. we cooked this on the grill and split the chicken down the middle so we obviously didn't use the garlic or onion.. i didn't have dried parsley so i left it out and used kosher salt for sea salt.. i used ground sage and ground thyme so i only put 1/8 tsp each.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is an amazing rub! I tried it on our beercan chicken roaster and it came out wonderful! We used apple cider instead of beer for the roaster and this rub and it was simply divine! Loved it! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tried this rub today for our Christmas Chicken and its soooooo delicious. What I did different is I cooked my roaster chicken in a bag. IT Turned out super juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina's Recipe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Oh my goodness this is good! I wasn't able to use every ingredient, but what I did have worked great! I put 1 tbsp of everything (except cayenne, celery seed and coriander). I only have smoked paprika and wanted to be careful with the heat; also I used only 1 tsp sea salt. It only got to rest with the rub for about an hour, then into a 375 oven for one hour and 15 minutes. Then turned the heat down to 350 for about 15 more minutes. The flavor this rub gives the chicken, perfect herbs and spices, is delicious! I have made many roasted chickens and used other rubs, with some of the same ingredients, but this combination topped them all! I will definitely make this over and over. Thank you Sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I use this recipe alot when I put a whole chicken in the crock pot. Gives great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I only made the rub, so my review is based on that portion only. I made a half batch and rubbed a bone-in turkey breast and cooked it in the crockpot for 5 hours (first hour on high, then low the remaining time). My husband can not have powdered garlic or onion but can have real onion and garlic. I rubbed the breast with garlic infused olive oil, then used the rub. I cut a large onion and additional garlic cloves and put them in and around the breast. Both my husband and DS commented how good it was! I used the leftover turkey to make a pot pie and it was just as well received! Thank you! I will definitely use this rub again in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Perfect for Taco Tuesdays or any day of the week.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States