Sarah's Chili Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stampmom9
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made this seasoning last night I used 1/2 cup of dark chili seasoning and for the extra onion powder I used two teaspoons of onion salt. It turned out fabulous my husband kept bragging how this was the best chili ever. He says that every time but he kept saying it over and over this time!! The boys all ate it up too I made southern style corn bread and topped with cheese. Yum! Well done recipe thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stampmom9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
added red pepper flakes but otherwise yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Recently made chili with this seasoning mix. It was out of this world delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Onion powder is listed twice. Is this correct, a typo or is there truly supposed to be 6 teaspoons of onion powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is easy to mix up and so much healthier and better than the store bought prepackaged mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I made it exactly as written without the bay leaf only because I forgot. I don't think it's all that hot. To me it was more of a mild medium mix. I know that depends on personal taste. I like hot and spicy things so it wasn't hot to me at all. I was wondering how much to use in a batch of chili because it didn't really say. So I used all of it and that was perfect. It seems like a lot compared to a store bought packet but it's not. The chili was perfectly seasoned using all of it. For those of you looking for make it'd yourself mix there is a taco seasoning recipe on allrecipes that is really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I liked the idea of being able to diy chili seasoning, however, I did not take the "chili" flavor as one would experience using store bought chili seasoning. There was a flavor missing. Not sure what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
We add a pinch of cocoa powder and reduce chili powder by abt half. No more packets in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Fantastic recipe as it is. I, however, don't like cumin, so I omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I downgraded the amount of chili powder because all I have is Indian chili powder (hotter than Mexican) and because my other half can't take too much heat, and it made an excellent batch of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chili Powder

See what chili powder with an “i” does best!

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States