Sarah's Banana Bread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Super easy and simple. I made mini muffins & used almonds instead of walnuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CynzCandles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Amazingly delicious! I've made these muffins many times since discovering this recipe and I like to make a few adjustments. To make these a little more healthy, I use 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1 cup all purpose and substitute half of the oil with 1/2 cup applesauce. Instead of 1 cup white sugar, I use 1/4 cup brown sugar + 1/3 cup splenda granulated (or white sugar). For an extra kick of flavor, try adding 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I dice or mash lightly at least one of the bananas so that there are yummy chunks of banana in some bites and sometimes throw in 2 tbsp of chocolate chips or oatmeal to vary the texture and reduce sugar or flour accordingly. I add additional chopped walnuts or sliced almonds to the top for decoration. I tend to fill the muffin cups to the top for puffy muffins and this recipe yields exactly 12 regular (~20 min) or 24 mini (~14 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe! I reduced cooking time to 24 minutes. Kids aren't big on walnuts, so I substituted about 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 3 T. flax seed, then sprinkled some flax seed on top. Just the right amount of nuttiness and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I made 12 muffins instead of a loaf. Excellent texture. I just added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very, VERY good. Rose beautifully but still dense, moist, delicious. My daughter and I left out the nuts and put in some chocolate chips, instead. She's two and loves to help out in the kitchen, and this recipe was perfect for little hands to help mix. We made both regular-sized muffins and mini muffins. Might do well to add a bit of vanilla or a dash of cinnamon, but overall, a great base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I think this recipe is a great base for banana bread or muffins... However, I did modify. My modifications: 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup and I add 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon almond extract when i don't have walnuts... Have made this as a banana bread loaf as well as muffins and EVERYONE loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I thought it was ok. Just make sure that you watch the timming mine it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Ok, so after reading other reviews, I also "tweaked" my recipe. I give it 5 stars though because it's a good base recipe to start from. Instead of 1C sugar, I used 1/2C agave nectar and 2T sugar. I also used two eggs instead of one. I did not have walnuts, so I added a teaspoon of walnut extract. I made jumbo muffins (filled 6 tins EXACTLY), so my baking time was 30 mins. And since I'm lazy and didn't want extra dishes to wash, I mixed it all at once in one bowl. (I started with mashing the bananas first, then chucked the rest of the ingredients in the bowl.)I've just taken them out of the oven and they are nice and golden and smell wonderful! Next time I will use almond and flax flour to make them gluten free! Thanks for sharing, Sarah. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
My primary goal was to find a recipe that would give me muffins that were very moist, & a little dense like banana bread...This is it!!! I admit that my 5 stars includes the flavor I got from adding a dash or two of nutmeg,cinnamon, & a tsp vanilla....But either way, my goal of finding a muffin recipe w/the texture of banana bread was accomplished...Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Great. used half the sugar. added some cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States