Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I doubled this recipe and made it in my slow cooker. Took about 3-4 hours on high, no need to mash the apples, they mushed on their own.. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2430 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I have a 30+ lb bag of apples from our apple tree that NEED to get used up so I took a chance and QUADRUPLED this recipe (praying for good results...otherwise I huge waste of ingrediants). My only change - I used a more apples than called for (6-7 apples X 4). My prayers have been answered!! My apples and effort have not gone to waste! I now have an economical recipe for applesauce that tastes wonderful and EVERYONE loves! Thanks a million phatcat! I'll be sure to repeat this recipe every fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! I think the type of apple you use will determine how much sugar you need. I doubled the apples and per the recommendation of the local produce manager, I used 3 empire and 5 macintosh. Since these are naturally sweeter than pie apples, I cut the sugar in half, using 1/4 cup for the doubled recipe. I also cut the cinnamon, since I only like a hint of it. Since a few reviewers talked about it being watery, I let it simmer for about 45 minutes. Once it seemed thick enough for my liking, I used the potato masher to make it smooth. Very easy and tasty recipe. You will have to adjust the sugar according to the apples and your personal preference. With the apples I used and cutting the sugar, we took a vote. Two thought the sweetness was just right and three thought it was a little sweet. However, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1024 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very good. I scaled-up the recipes and usd 10 apples, 3/4 c sugar ut only 1 c water since I cooked it in my slow cooker on high for four hours. Delicious. I added some extra cinnamon, ginger, cloves and nutmeg for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Awesome!! My first time making applesauce and it was delicious. I used cortland apples, and instead of sugar I added 4 packets of splenda and a little extra cinnamon. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This is one of the first things I've tried to cook, and I don't think it came out how it was supposed to, but I think the next time I make it, it will be even more wonderful!! I used 4 small gala apples and 1 medium granny smith, added a little bit more water, and kept the peels on for added nutritional benefit. Next time I will peel them and chop up the peels into much smaller bits and add 'em in...I'll also probably cook it a few minutes longer, I think I probably let it sit on the stove for about 21-22 minutes, stirring occasionally but a few more minutes would of probably been better. I also didn't use an exact measurement on the 1/2 t of cinn. (Just kinda eye-balled it with a 1 t) and it was the perfect amount. I will probably use a tad less sugar too. Anyway... all my non-skills at cooking aside, this tastes SOOOOO good!!!! Thanks phatcat for making one of my first cooking experiences a positive one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I make this exact recipe every autumn, and it never fails to impress people. It's so easy, and homemade applesauce is FAR better than the storebought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I have my grandbaby visiting this weekend from Minneapolis and wanted to make him some homemade applesauce. (I didn't even do that for my OWN kids!) So I chose this recipe, but only as a reference. Because it was for an infant not quite six months old I knew I would add no sugar or cinnamon. But I'll tell you, even if I wanted to, there'd be no way I'd add this much sugar (a tablespoon per apple?) no matter what size the apples were. Also, knowing apples give off a lot of liquid, 3/4 cup of water seemed a lot. I cut that back to 1/2 cup, and could have used even less - I think 1/4 cup would have been fine. But that's 2/3 less than the recipe calls for! I chunked rather than chopped the apples, so I could do a good fork test on a chunk of apple to make sure it was cooked until tender. Again, because this was intended for a baby, I ran it through the food processor (blender would have worked fine too) rather than mashing it. So two stars as written because of the overload of both sugar and water, even tho' it ended up pure and delicious. I can't wait to see how little Andrew likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I am seriously sitting here trying to figure out why I buy applesauce. This is EXCELLENT!! I mean for as much as we hemmorage through it, (which is the reason I sought this recipe, I was out...and whats a pork chop without applesauce) I always have apples thanks to my apple tree out back & now I will never be without, thanks phatcat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This applesauce is delicious, though next time, I would cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States