Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I thought it was delish and my kids loved it too. Followed the recipe exactly and it was way better than store bought for sure. Actually haven't had store bought since and probably won't unless I am in a rush or something. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Fabulous applesauce! Used 3 gala and 3 macs in slow cooker. Just omitted water and it came out perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Not much of a cook, I never thought to make applesauce from scratch. Trying to follow a "clean" eating plan so this fit right in and I couldn't believe how easy and fast! Replaced sugar with coconut sugar and it was terrific! I will never buy jar sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I use this recipe every year and add it in muffins, for my boyfriend's birthday. It is delicious and tasty every time! I use Granny Smith apples, because of their sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
PERFECT every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used 5 small Honeycrisp apples that had passed my high standard for crunchiness! I peeled, roughly chopped and added 3/4c of water as directed, I added a few more tablespoons, which it turns out was not necessary. I added the cinnamon but no sugar and it was great. I barely mashed them, leaving lots of chunks. While I probably won't make this in general, I will use it every time I have a few apples that otherwise would be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The recipe is great with Granny Smith - the right amount of water, but cut the sugar back at least half. Made the second time with Gala, and could have eliminated most or all of the sugar (only used half, and was still too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I tripled this and put it in the crockpot. Instead of cinnamon I used pumpkin spice and my whole family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Unbelievably easy. I had a recipe for Tropical Grilled Pork Chops. (See Allrecipe....so delicious!) but did not have any canned applesauce so made some with Sarah's Recipe. Perfect and obviously a lot healthier. I did drain off most of the water used to cook the apples before mashing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllOurEggs.com
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I had leftover apples from stockings so I made one batch with one change. When I cut the apples I left the skin on them - they are the most nutrient-packed part of the apple. The skin becomes so soft they just mold right into the applesauce. Just like the skin of a potato, the skin of an apple is the best part - good for your lungs and brain - preventing cancer and controlling weight. Rethink peeling your apples folks. I also used one less tablespoon of sugar and they were plenty sweet. The sweetness will depend on what kind of apples you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllOurEggs.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States