Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
The best applesauce recipe ever! I use Granny Smith apples for a little of that tart taste! I have a daughter that is a vegan, so I substitute agave for the sugar so that she can eat it! Can't tell the difference......still out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I never realized how easy it would be to make my own applesauce! I seriously don't understand why anyone buys the store bought stuff. I'm just starting to learn how to cook and I love this. I only gave it 3 stars because it doesn't suggest which type of apples to use and it doesn't need any sugar. After reading through the reviews I settled on 4 Granny Smith and 2 red delicious, maybe it's the type of apples I chose why its so good without sugar. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I don't have a sweet tooth, and I try to avoid sugar as much as possible, so I made a few alterations - I used 5 smallish apples, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon and 3/4 cup of water. I didn't add any sugar. After boiling the ingredients I blended them all in my food processor. Delicious and ridiculously simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
So easy and tasty! I used 2 Granny Smiths and 2 Red Delicious that I had on hand and needed to use. For me, there was a little bit too much liquid and I had to drain some out at the end, so next time I'll cut back on the water. Since I'm avoiding extra sugar in my diet and because of my own desired level of sweetness, I used 3 packets of Splenda instead of the sugar. SO much better than store-bought! I'll never eat apple sauce out of a jar again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samira Ayana Thomas
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Didn't know it was so easy! My 3 year old loves applesauce so I looked it up. This was an amazing recipe! I used honey, instead of sugar but that's the only tweek. It tastes awesome! Suggestion tho, if u do use honey, don't use the 1/4 cup only use 1/8 because honey is sweeter! Love the recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Ruysseveldt
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I tripled the recipe and it turned out amazing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Ruysseveldt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is such a good, easy recipe to begin with. I sub some honey & agave instead of sugar and added some lemon juice too. Easy breezy and just right for everyone to add their own twist. Always a good idea to not buy processed food when it is this easy to make yourself. Your family will really enjoy what you do for them right at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey J. Schaefer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
So easy! I had never made applesauce before and now I swear, I'll never buy it again. This recipe is perfect, though I would cut the sugar in half and experiment with some more spices next time (nutmeg, maybe a bit more cinnamon). I would also like to try it without the sugar at all...the apples I buy are pretty sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This apple sauce recipe is fantastic! Thank you very much for sharing with us. I made it , it was so quick to make, very easy, my son who is picky eater , he loved it. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
The amount of sugar and water needed will vary quite a bit depending on the types of apples that you use. I used a mix of Fuji and Gala apples (just using up what was in my fridge) and although I used five apples, a quarter cup of sugar was way too much. I also had quite a bit of liquid in with the apples when I was done cooking it. I also wasn't clear on how to time the cooking time. I started the timer once the liquid in with the apples was bubbling, and then let it simmer for 20 minutes. The apples were soft afterward, but a potato masher wasn't working at all. Dumped it all in a blender, pulsed a couple of times, and got a consistency I'm happy with. This recipe is a good starting point for someone who wants to make applesauce but doesn't know how, but it should have suggested starting out with a smaller amount of sugar and then increasing to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainwalkerSK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States