Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by bakergirl
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I LOVED this! It is so much better than the store bought brands. My family loved this. Next time I'll make a double batch. Mine probably made anywhere from 1 to 1 1/2 cups of sauce. It was so delicious! I definitely recommend this. It is so easy. I think this would be a good recipe to make for little kids. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I loved it - I can never go back to store bought applesauce now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
First time I ever made apple sauce. I thought it was simple and perfectly delicious. I used Cortlandt apples. Sometimes I've tasted other's homemade apple sauce and thought it was too overdone with spices and lemon and lemon zest and complicated and all the stuff that they said brings out the flavors of the apple. Except I could hardly taste the apple. This recipe let me actually taste the natural goodness of the apple. Just a little cinnamon was a nice complement. When it comes to good apple sauce, keeping it simple is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Turned out yummy but Four stars because I did not need nearly that much water - just put in a bit, probably about a 1/4 cup - and I used 9 ginger gold apples. My apples were squishy (which was why I was making applesauce, they were not very good to eat out of hand) - so maybe had a higher water content than other types of apples. Also, I cut back on the sugar just to save a few calories. Amazing that nine apples only made a couple of cups of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made a very similar recipe with frozen apples from last year, Splenda, and cinnamon. Filled the crockpot and all was done in about 5 hours. Scooped it out with a slotted spoon and had some cider left once I drained the bottom. Sooooo good! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Just made this. I doubled the recipe with gala apples. I think doubleing the sugar was a bit much. Less sugar next time & it wil be super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was easy to make and my husband love it. I used ginger apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Fantastic! I take my girls apple picking every year and by day 4 they are tired of eating apples so we use them in other ways. This is a great recipe to use for applesauce cake, pancakes, muffins and as an oil substitute for baking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is easy done in the crock pot. Just toss in the apples - we like them chunky - & for extra flavor substitute apple cider for the water. I wait until the apples are soft to add the sugar since some are sweeter than others & for a richer taste use brown sugar with the cinnamon. Sometimes I mix different varieties of apples for nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I have been using brown sugar, with a pinch of cloves and grated nutmeg, along with cinnamon for years, to make apple crumble. If you just want it for sauce though, it can be done in the microwave, in about 2 or 3 minutes. I'm sure this would be cheaper than cooking it in a slow cooker for 3 or 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States