Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I have been wanting to make applesauce for ages but always thought it too time consuming. But when I actually looked into it I of course realized I was wrong. I also found that there were as many ways to make it as there were recipes. I chose this recipe because it used the simplest of ingredients and in my humble opinion applesauce should be simple. I had about 2 dozen or so apples that needed to find a new purpose so I quadrupled the recipe except for the sugar as I was using my two favorite kinds, Red Delicious and Golden Delicious, which are sweet on their own. I only added a little under 3/4c sugar. Well it turned out perfect! By the time it cooled enough to be jarred my daughters had eaten a quarter of it. Thanks for the best recipe. Will be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
A Five Star Recipe! The family loved Sarah's applesauce! Super easy to make and purely delicious. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I had a bunch of apples that I was going to throw out and my boyfriend convinced me to make apple sauce. Yummm!!! So easy and sooooo good. Doubled the recipe and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Added a touch of nutmeg. Next time I'll use less sugar cause it didn't need so much. Gonna add the sauce to my oatmeal for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I love it although the first time I used a 1/4 cup of cinnamon. Oops hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great recipe!! The apples I used were a bit on the sweet side to start with so I did use a little less sugar then noted. It seemed a little watery and hard to mush up by hand so I threw it in the blender. It came out perfect!!! My picky little girls that won't eat store bought applesauce LOVED it!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Super easy and really tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Lost a star because it's too much water. I doubled the recipe with apples we picked this weekend. I ended up bailing out about 3/4 cup liquid before I mashed the apples. Next time, I'll use APPLE CIDER! YUM! That would make this even better. I could probably reduce the sugar that way too. This was a great base recipe but it needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe is great,love it I have always wanted to make applesauce and then can it I tried this recipe so guess what I need to know how to can it how long I have to cook it after putting it in the canning jars If anyone knows how long to boil the jar please post it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
the review by naples34102 critiqued it very well. Way way way too much water. And actually because my apples were small wild ones, I added more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made a double batch using 8 large McIntosh apples but reduced the water. I only used 1 cup not 1.5 if doing double. I ended up straining off 1/2 a cup of water before mashing my apples. It would have been way too runny!! I also added extra cinnamon and used 2 tablespoons of sugar in the raw in place of the white sugar. Only cooked for 15 mins and the apples were plenty tender! Very tasty. Sorry I tend to modify recipes on this site according to other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States