Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Good! Put in the food processor after cooking for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
made this to go with my roast Pork. Was so easy to make and tasted great, I did add extra sugar as I used Bramley apples from my neighbors tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Bell 'Day'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Microwave, covered, for 10 minutes if you don't feel like using the stove top and wallah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Since we had a TON of apples from the orchard, we decided to make applesauce and lots of it! We used this recipe as a starting point. Since we wanted to make it as health as possible, we decided to only add half the amount of sugar called and it's still super sweet! We also ended up having to cook for a lot longer than called because there was too much water in it. We ran it through a blender at the very end to make it a little smoother. It tastes wonderful with our few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessa Brynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Im 12 and I love to cook and learn about were food comes from. Me and my famiy are going to the orchard today to pick apples. We are going to make this recipe. It looks so good i am tempted to eat my computer screen!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Really good, really simple. I used honey crisp apples so I cut down the sugar a little and I cooked in the crock pot so I didn't have to touch it. I tried it on low at first but after 4 hours, it was still crunchy so I cranked it up to high for another 2 hours. I probably shouldn't have gone so long but I had to leave the house so I wasn't watching it. Next time, I think 3 - 4 hours on high or 6 hours on low. Also, since I did in the crock pot, I didn't need as much water. I think I used about half a cup and still had too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Jessup
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Probably tripled the batch, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jessup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Absolutely outstanding flavor and very, very easy to make. My wife loved it and we finished it all within 48 hours!! Excellent recipe and a great argument for never buying jarred apple sauce again. Best of all, you can play with the sugar content as your apples vary in sweetness. This one is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
CAN THIS BE CANNED? FOR HOW LONG? I TAKE IT THAT IT MUST BE REFRIGERATED IF CANNED CORRECT. I LOVE THE COMBINATION OF APPLES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I like my applesauce chunky, so I always make it at home, using a variety of apples like this - definitely with a MacIntosh unless they look bad in the store. I rarely add water - maybe a tablespoon - and never sugar. If the apples seem to need sugar for flavor, I use a little lemon juice. I also microwave rather than cooking on the stove - no scorching, although you have to watch so they don't overflow. My family likes a whole cinnamon stick cooked with it, not just ground cinnamon. Main complaint with this recipe is the unnecessary amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States