Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Really tasty and super easy recipe! I used 6 apples of various types, and used 1/4 cup and 1 Tbpsn (instead of 1/4 cup and 2 Tbspn called for) to cut down on sugar a bit. Still came out really sweet - next time I might do just under 1/4 cup. Used less cinnamon so that would be more of a background flavor, and threw in a few sprinkles of ground cloves. Came out sweet and flavorful, smells like pie filling. I kind of want to eat all of it immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very good and super easy! Might cut back to 1/2 cup on water and a little on the sugar and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
i love this recipe but i want to know how to half it because i only have 2 apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pickyperson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I will never buy store bought apple sauce again :) it's so tasty!! I didn't even have to mash it, just stirred a few times while it was cooling off. Next time I'm definitely doubling or tripling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I used very tart (read: downright sour) Granny Smith apples and brown sugar instead of white. The amount of water and spice was spot on. I think most people would have sweetened it more, but I like to be able to taste the apple in my applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious! I've taken a few liberties with the water-to-apple ratio, and I even made a batch in which I used some Granny Smiths, a couple of MacIntosh, a couple of Golden Delicious, and a few Asian Pears, just because it's what I had on hand. I find myself rarely adding sugar to the recipe though, just some cinnamon, and occasionally ground nutmeg. It really makes it taste like apple pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very nice; versatile as to type of apples, pre-prep and cooking method. Still turns out well, every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is the first time I've ever made applesauce. The whole family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, doubled it, and it took me about 30 minutes for my apples to be soft. Then I just threw them all into my vitamix blender and pulsed it a few times. I used gala apples. We put it in the fridge overnight and had it for breakfast. It was perfect. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely use it again :). If I had anything to add, it would be that after a small bowl of this, I felt a little "sweeted out". At first bite I didn't think it was overly sweet at all but after a whole bowl, I really started tasting the sugar so maybe next time I'll try it with a little less, I'm sure that's just personal preference though :). Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Make this applesauce a lot in the fall! Always goes fast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Loved it but substituted Splenda for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Rose Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States