Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Easy and tasty. The type of apple you use will determine how much sugar you will need to add. If you are using sweet apples then of course you would reduce the amount of sugar. I don't think it is necessary to give this recipe less stars because you had to adjust the amount of sugar. You can make any applesauce as sweet or less sweet as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Super easy, doesn't last long in the fridge. Make it in small batches and use it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Outstanding, simple recipe that turns out great every time. I use slightly more sugar, and do half brown and half white, but otherwise don't change a thing. I am cooking some right now with a blorp of pure vanilla, just to try something new. This is my 4th time making this recipe and I will never use another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Thoreck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
It was amazing! Probably the best applesauce I've ever had. My husband always has apples in the fridge and there were a few he wasn't going to eat before they went bad. So I figured applesauce for desert would be a good idea. It made a decent number of servings. I did add extra cinnamon because I love it, but it ended up being just a tad bit much. So I think I'll just follow the recipe exactly next time. Also, I used granny smith apples because that's what I had on hand. It gave it a nice tartness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Andrews
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Was trying to refresh my memory as to how my Mom has made applesauce over the years and came upon this recipe. I really didn't remember her putting in water at all, let alone sugar, but I gave this a try. And then recalled exactly that she didn't add h20 or sugar; this is far too sweet, and really needs no added water as apples let off so much of their own. I did can this, though, for later use (will be great stirred into plain yogurt, or as a side to pork!!) Anyway, in my reprised pot of sauce, I added a mere 1 tbsp of water for 6 apples and a little cinnamon and nutmeg. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
My family loved this applesauce. My husband is diabetic so I tweeked it a bit. Used combination of Gala, Honeycrisp, and Fuji apples (what I had and plus they are sweet too), and I substituted the sugar for Stevia in the Raw. I also doubled the cinnamon, because we are cinnamon lovers. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This was delicious! My cousin is also on this site and reccomended it to me. I will try it with Splenda to make it free on WW. It is soooooo much better than store bought, heavenly with a bit of whipped cream, on top of pancakes. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Had a bunch of apples that needed to be used up. Used 12 apples - peeled, sliced and put in the slow cooker. 1/2 cup sugar, 1 full tsp of cinnamon and 1 cup water. On high for 3 hours. Used potato masher to mash up. Worked great and tasted even better! A great way to use up apples and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I never peel the apples, just leave them on and in the food processor they just become part of the mix.sweeten with a bit of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States