Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I make a similar applesauce only in the microwave oven. I use Gravensteins when in season, make 4 or 5 batches Then divide them into containers and freeze. Use only 1/2 cup water for cooking in the microwave And use a large microwave safe bowl, covered. Cook about 5 minutes, uncover and stir. If the apples are not Done to your desire, cook another minute or two. I add the cinnamon after the apples are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Very very good. I tripled the recipe and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This applesauce was delicious. I used honeycrisp and gala apples (7 in total). I omitted the sugar and increased the water to 1 cup. I cooked in a slow cooker for 4 hours on high. It came out wonderful with just the right sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Just tried this recipe and it is amazing! I had extra apples in the fridge and decided to try something new. My only feedback would be to use less sugar. Next time I do this I will probably do 1/4 the sugar called for. I personally like it hot as a chunky-er apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is my third year using this recipe. It's the BEST applesauce recipe - especially for the late summer / early fall when the Paula Red / McIntosh apples come in. (Harder, crunchier apples don't mush up as well as these varieties.) The most time consuming part is peeling the apples. After you've made it a few times, you can 'eyeball' the other measurements (rather than measuring). My kids LOVE this applesauce - especially warm! I make it several times a week while the fresh apples are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I love this recipe! It is really so easy and you can modify it in several ways (adding other fruit and flavors, taking out sugar...etc.). I left out the sugar this last time... Still, YUM! The kids and hubby LOVE it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Super easy and delicious! My first time making applesauce and the flavor is far superior to store bought in a jar. The apples were free from my neighbor, so it's a very inexpensive recipe too. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
EXCELLENT!! This applesauce recipe has just enough sugar and cinnamon. Great flavor and very, very easy! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Super simple to follow and everyone loves it! It's a must try with some vanilla ice cream... Besides, it make the house smell great when you are cooking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I've never made applesauce before and fist feel like running to the supermarket, I decided to give it a shot. Wow!! Absolutely delicious and super easy. Way better than store bought. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States